It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Open All Users
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2015 11:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:32 pm
Posts: 5
'Open All Users no longer works. Where is the problem? (see picture)

Greetings


Attachments:
Picture.jpg
Picture.jpg [ 40.85 KiB | Viewed 9465 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 9:59 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Usually it goes to this folder: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu
Check if it exists and that you can open it in Explorer manually.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 7:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:32 pm
Posts: 5
Yes, the call from 'All Programs' works correctly. (see pic 1, pic 2)
Sorry, my englisch is not good.


Attachments:
Pic-2.JPG
Pic-2.JPG [ 29.93 KiB | Viewed 9421 times ]
Pic-1.jpg
Pic-1.jpg [ 70.17 KiB | Viewed 9421 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Why do you have two "Programme" items in your start menu folder? I suspect there is some mixup with your start menu folders.

Download the Classic Shell Utility from here: http://www.classicshell.net/downloads/
Run it and send me the log file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:32 pm
Posts: 5
Menu 'All Programs' -> 'All Users' no problem


Attachments:
Pic-1.jpg
Pic-1.jpg [ 70.17 KiB | Viewed 9420 times ]
Pic-2.JPG
Pic-2.JPG [ 29.93 KiB | Viewed 9420 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:32 pm
Posts: 5
Sorry, i thought there would be an easy solution for this problem. I saw no difference between the call from 'All Programs' and the call from 'Classic Shell'.
Because the File contains sensitive data, i would not like to send this via PM.
Maybe this helps, at the begining of the file is written:
***
System
Windows version (real): 6.03.9600 64-bit
Windows version (reported): 6.02
Windows version (registry): Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center 6.3
Computer: xyz
User: xyz
User Languages: de-DE|en-US
Thread Languages: de-DE|de|en-US
Monitor: 0, 0 - (1920 x 1080)
Taskbar: 0, 1040 - (1920 x 40)
Start Menu folder: 'C:\Users\xyz\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu'
Programs folder: 'C:\Users\xyz\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs'
Common Start Menu folder: 'C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu'
Common Programs folder: 'C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs'
Pending updates (0x00000000): 0, 0, 1
Skip to Desktop: 1
***
Perhaps i may just live with this little problem. Thanks for the support.
Regards


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Everything looks OK. If I were you I would investigate that grayed out shortcut called "Programme".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:24 am
Posts: 2
Morning Ivo,

I'm having exactly the same problem as the OP. If you would, I'd be grateful if you would take a log at the log file I've uploaded to the Media Fire FileDrop.

Thanks a lot.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Press Win+R, type "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu", press Enter.
What happens?
Try it both with and without the quotes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:24 am
Posts: 2
Nothing at all happens. That is, the run box just flashes quickly - this is with and without quotes.
For info if I go to Start > Programs then right click on Programs the Open All Users menu works from there.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Then something is wrong with your Start Menu folder if you can't even open it from the Run box (which is an OS dialog and not part of Classic Shell). It may be something with permissions or attributes or something - hard to tell.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:32 pm
Posts: 5
Problem is the PC version of 'AirDroid'. Uninstalling 'AirDroid' does not help. With 'Total unstall' I could eliminate the problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:47 pm
Posts: 1
Confirmed, this is a problem caused by installing the AirDroid software. Like Zerpus, I was lucky enough to have used Total Uninstall so I was able to identify how AirDroid caused the problem.

It hijacks the Open All Users command by overwriting the C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu.lnk shortcut with one that points to C:\Program Files (x86)\AirDroid\Launcher.exe
The file is supposed to point to C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu
Uninstalling the software did not correct the issue (it just makes the command stop working altogether as the link target is gone); you need to manually repair the link.

I have emailed the AirDroid developers identifying the issue and chastizing them on this. To date, I haven't heard back. I hope this information helps others.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Open All Users
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 10:40 am
Posts: 2
i am new user,, still to listen :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.