It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:11 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:55 pm
Posts: 7
In Controls I have set Shift+Win to open the Windows Start Screen
It only works when I press Shift+Win and then release the Win-key first.
it doesn't work when I press Shift+Win and release the Shift-key first.


Last edited by Jans on Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
That is the way modifier keys (Shift, Ctrl, Alt) work everywhere in Windows as far as I know. Modifier key is always supposed to be pressed earlier.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:55 pm
Posts: 7
GauravK that’s correct, for a part.
Shift, Ctrl and Alt key-combinations in Windows normally are executed after both keys are pressed.

Not after the second key is released again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Hmm I tried Start8 and it works both ways as you say. Win+Shift/Win+Ctrl works just as well as Shift+Win/Ctrl+Win.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:55 pm
Posts: 7
GauravK wrote:
Hmm I tried Start8 and it works both ways as you say. Win+Shift/Win+Ctrl works just as well as Shift+Win/Ctrl+Win.



You must have been drinking :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
No I meant Start8 does it as you say, so it should be possible for Classic Shell for a future version. Ivo will decide that since he's the developer.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:27 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The standard is that the modifier keys must be pressed first. That's how all shortcuts work everywhere in Windows. Try it. Set a hotkey for a shortcut to Ctrl+Alt+C. See if pressing C first and then Ctrl+Alt will work. No, it won't.
Imagine if instead of Ctrl+C you press C+Ctrl. The first key will type the letter c, messing up your text.

If Start8 wants to do something non-standard, that's up to them. Doesn't mean it is the new standard.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:55 pm
Posts: 7
Ivo, you’re totally right, but that’s not the issue.
To open the Windows Start Screen in CS with Shift+Win (after this hotkey is set in Controls), you have to press Shift, then Win, and then release the Win-key.
That’s not how shortcuts work in Windows.
In Windows key-combinations are executed, as soon as the second key (Win) is pressed. (not after the second key is released again).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Ah, but the Win key is special, because it can be both a main key and a modifier.
It is the main key in Shift+Win, but a modifier for Win+E. If the menu shows up when you press Win, then you won't be able to have shortcuts like Shift+Win+E.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:55 pm
Posts: 7
Aha, thank you Ivo, now I understand why.
I don’t know what Shift+Win+e stands for but I found there are Shift+Win+Arrow shortcuts for moving around the active window on the screen, so no bug, well thought and you’re absolutely right.

But that still keeps the Shift+Win shortcut usage/behavior in CS being different from “normal” Windows shortcuts.
I suggest Alt+Win might be an option.
It suits the purpose, and i.m.h.o. there is no Windows shortkey using Alt+Win or Alt+Win+whatever.
But you are the Expert.

Thanks for your explanation.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.