It is currently Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:12 pm
Posts: 1
I've been using Classic Start Menu 4.3.0 on about 25 computers that were upgraded from Windows 7/SP1 to Windows 10 Anniversary Update without a problem. However, when I've tried running it on a clean install of Windows 10 Anniversary Update, I'm running into a problem that I haven't been able to resolve.

When I log in as an administrator, Classic Start Menu runs without a hitch. I've selected the "Classic style" menu with the "Metro" skin and the start menu displays as such. When I log in as a Standard User, I don't see this. Instead, I only see the normal menu you would see with Windows 10. If I right-click on the Start button, I can see the normal "Classic Start Menu" options.

This computer is joined to a domain. However, I have moved it out of any OUs that would be applying Group Policy settings that might have locked down the computer. Here's what I've done so far as troubleshooting:

1. Disabled UAC on the computer. When it was enabled, I got a message that Classic Start Menu was disabled when I tried to run the EXE from Windows Explorer. Disabled, the message went away but I still get the standard Win 10 start menu.

2. Created a shortcut for the ClassicStartMenu.exe and added it to the "Start Up" folder for the user. No change in the start menu after logging in.

3. Changed the user to Administrator permissions. I can see Classic Start Menu running when I look at the processes in Task Manager but the start menu doesn't change.

It appears this problem is specific to this User and I could kill the profile and recreate the profile but I would rather figure out why I can't see the menu and fix that if possible.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5046
Download the Classic Shell Utility from here: http://www.classicshell.net/downloads/
Run it on the affected machine (for the user that's giving you trouble), select the first option to save a log file, send the file to me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 4761
Since right click shows you the normal Classic Start Menu options, you probably have it accidentally configured to open the Windows Start Menu when you left click. To fix that, right click it -> open Settings. Check "Show all settings" at the top and go to the tab called "Controls". Change "Left Click opens" to "Classic Start Menu".

If that is correctly configured and you are still getting the Windows menu, following Ivo's steps of generating a log will make it clear what is wrong.

_________________
Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], MSNbot Media and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.