It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 3:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5278
Here’s what’s new:

  • Improved support for Windows 10
  • New ability to save settings to XML files from command line: http://www.classicshell.net/faq/#install_xml
  • New skin features, including glass for Windows 10, shadows for the text and fractional font sizes like 9.5
  • New setting on the 'Menu Look' tab to control the opacity of the glass on Windows 10
  • New setting to align the custom start button to the corner instead of the middle of the taskbar
  • Multiple minor improvements and bugfixes

You can download it from here: http://www.mediafire.com/download/06l6e ... _4_2_2.exe


Next release is Classic Shell 4.2.3 RC
Previous release was Classic Shell 4.2.1.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 8:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5338
Known issues in this beta release (All fixed in Classic Shell 4.2.3 Release Candidate):

- Command line switches for programs don't work in the search box
- Green mask in skins isn't working
- Network Connections icons may not always be up-to-date in Classic styles
- The glass color intensity is ignored if the glass color is set to default

If you aren't sure which Start Menu to go with, or whether or not you still need a Start Menu on Windows 10, here's a comparison of Classic Shell's Start Menu with the rest:

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 12:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 3:22 pm
Posts: 25
Thanks for having a change of heart and releasing an update.

Apps folder now opens and works again!

;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 3:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 3:16 pm
Posts: 2
Windows10 10130
When installing new program Classic Shell doesn't pick up the new program, and has prevented the program link been shown in the Windows 10 menu.
Using Classic Shell in Classic Style mode.
Previously shown programs in the Windows10 Start Menu and Classic Shell have now disappeared and reinstalling the programs the programs still don't show up in Classic Shell.

So great to see a version of Classic Shell for Windows10


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5278
I don't fully understand what programs do you expect to see in the menu. Can you show a screenshot?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 3:16 pm
Posts: 2
Any programs installed new don't show up in the Classic Shell menu.
Discovered works in Windows 7 style, but not in Classic Style.

Another thing noticed in Windows 7 style, cannot find where to access Classic Shell settings.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5278
Download the Classic Shell Utility from here: http://www.classicshell.net/downloads/
Run it and send me the log file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:36 pm
Posts: 2
Ivo wrote:
Here’s what’s new:

  • Improved support for Windows 10
  • New ability to save settings to XML files from command line: http://www.classicshell.net/faq/#install_xml
  • New skin features, including glass for Windows 10, shadows for the text and fractional font sizes like 9.5
  • New setting to align the custom start button to the corner instead of the middle of the taskbar
  • Multiple minor improvements and bugfixes

You can download it from here: http://www.mediafire.com/download/06l6e ... _4_2_2.exe


Hi, New here but learning. Will the beta 4.2.2 install over the reg 4.2.1?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5278
Yes. Every version of Classic Shell will install over versions with a smaller number.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:36 pm
Posts: 2
Ivo wrote:
Yes. Every version of Classic Shell will install over versions with a smaller number.

Thanks Ivo. I was part was though installation and didn't see any indication that it would. Installed without problem. Thanks.
panos


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:38 am
Posts: 1
Great! This has fixed the dead "start Screen" button in Windows 10 for me!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2015 5:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:11 pm
Posts: 55
Hi! For me, not all application icons are showing for modern apps on windows 10 rtm.


Attachments:
Névtelen.png
Névtelen.png [ 533.5 KiB | Viewed 233970 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:37 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5278
See if a restart will fix it. I think build 10240 continues to install apps even after you finish the installation. The icons may not have been updated when the start menu loaded them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 7:28 am
Posts: 1
skyli wrote:
Hi! For me, not all application icons are showing for the Bathmate and modern apps on windows 10 rtm.


Same thing here, I restarted too. I'm wondering if there is a setting somewhere that we can decide what apps we want to appear and that's why I'm not seeing them. I've also lost the calculator which is something I use all the time.


Last edited by Valle on Fri May 27, 2016 9:22 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5338
@Valle, All apps from the shell:AppsFolder namespace extension are shown. If the Calculator doesn't show up there, it is not installed in your Windows. As for the icons, you can right click the Start button and choose Exit. Then go to %localappdata%\ClassicShell and delete DataCache.db. Launch the Start Menu again from C:\Program Files\Classic Shell\ClassicStartMenu.exe. See if the icons show correctly now.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.