It is currently Sun Oct 17, 2021 6:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 438 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
, download the image from this post; then right click the start button and select settings. Then near the bottom check 'replace start button' click custom, and pick image then browse to the file you just downloaded from here. I could not find on the post where to download is ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Like this


Attachments:
Screenshot (12).png
Screenshot (12).png [ 70.97 KiB | Viewed 56490 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I will try adding the button


I am not technical what is the difference in this http://www.stardock.com/products/start10/download.asp and Window Classic Shell ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
The main difference is that start10 cost money, and classic shell is 100% free
There are some features only available on classic shell, and others only available on start10 but for the most part they are similar


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I get it you mean the start10 cost money, and classic shell is 100% free is the difference the look not how W10 works ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
yes, they both work about the same


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I had my windows 10 start menu with the Apps pinned to the start menu and I can not find it will the look of start menu change the look of things


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
This setting will put apps back in your start menu


Attachments:
Screenshot (13).png
Screenshot (13).png [ 43.44 KiB | Viewed 56482 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I get it the screenshot shows setting will put apps back in your start menu ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
yes


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
Thanks much to everyone if I have more questions about settings can I ask ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
yes you can ask here.

I am going to sleep for the night though so a response may take several hours.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I can not seem to figure out how to change the button from the post can you make it more detail for me please


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 4:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Here.


Attachments:
Screenshot %289%29.png
Screenshot %289%29.png [ 326.25 KiB | Viewed 54287 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I did it from the screenshot

How can I get this look here


Attachments:
WCS Apps.JPG
WCS Apps.JPG [ 61.81 KiB | Viewed 56406 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 11:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
From the look that's windows 8's screen

the closest you can get is to hold shift, while clicking the start button


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I got it I think if you read all my post I went with Windows 7 look in order to get this in the screenshot I have go to Windows 8 look to get the feature in Windows Classic Shell ?


Attachments:
WCS Apps.JPG
WCS Apps.JPG [ 61.81 KiB | Viewed 56396 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 1:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
No this feature isnt part of classic shell at all, what I showed you was how to use your old windows 10 start menu (it isnt gone, it just uses a different hotkey now)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
This chart is comparing what viewtopic.php?t=2399


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
That chart shows the full list of features that all the different start menus have, and lack. As you can see no start menu has every feature, so compromises must be made.. :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
If this screenshot is not in Windows Classic Shell could I go back and forth between Windows Classic Shell and Windows 10 ?


Attachments:
WCS Apps.JPG
WCS Apps.JPG [ 61.81 KiB | Viewed 56354 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Yes, simply hold the shift key when clicking the start button, or pressing the windows key


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
As you can see am trying different looks is it easy to uninstall and install Windows Classic Shell ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 5:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Yes, classic shell can quickly be uninstalled from: Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I am going to use Windows Classic Shell need some set up help for will you help some things ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Ill do what I can to answer any questions you post; however if you want considerable customizations, It might be easier to grant me remote access with https://www.teamviewer.com/en/index.aspx so i can make the changes myself. (By controlling your pc)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I am trying to get this color for start menu and taskbar I can not seem to get it ?


Attachments:
WCS Colors.JPG
WCS Colors.JPG [ 62.7 KiB | Viewed 56299 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
this color


Attachments:
WC Color.JPG
WC Color.JPG [ 40.95 KiB | Viewed 56299 times ]
WC Color.JPG
WC Color.JPG [ 40.95 KiB | Viewed 56299 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Paste this in: 451C05


Attachments:
Screenshot (14).png
Screenshot (14).png [ 19.17 KiB | Viewed 56292 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I did it thanks if I want the color change I can ask you please am trying to to a certain look ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 12:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Yes, any color you would like ill be happy to give you the code for


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
Yes, thanks any color I would like


Attachments:
WCC.JPG
WCC.JPG [ 71.21 KiB | Viewed 56279 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
Could you please give me the color code for the screenshot


Attachments:
WCC.JPG
WCC.JPG [ 71.21 KiB | Viewed 56234 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
BEBEBE


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
I should have given you more details my fault I am trying to get the color like Windows 95 start menu and taskbar if you try get back to me please


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Just the color, or the look also?

BEBEBE Is the gray color from the menu
However it will only be on the right side of the menu unless you change the skin

If you want the full look, I can add instructions for that also, but it gets a little complicated.


Attachments:
Screenshot (15).png
Screenshot (15).png [ 23.37 KiB | Viewed 56196 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
color, and the look yes both I want the full look, get back to me please


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Load this xml into classic shells settings (like we did the other day)


Attachments:
Menu Settings.xml [9.94 KiB]
Downloaded 814 times
Screenshot %285%29.png
Screenshot %285%29.png [ 191.14 KiB | Viewed 56141 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
Jcee I am a disabled person take me threw the loading steps one more time I do not want to mess it up


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Download the file
Right click the start button and select settings

Load the file (the screenshot from my last post)
Hit OK


Attachments:
Screenshot %283%29 (1).png
Screenshot %283%29 (1).png [ 56.14 KiB | Viewed 56139 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
Jcee I tryed to download to my download folder it did not end up their here is a screenshot of my download folder am I looking in the right place


Attachments:
DL.JPG
DL.JPG [ 71.19 KiB | Viewed 56139 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Apparently not;
hit ctrl+J in your browser
This should open a window with your downloads. (and probably the location)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
Jcee I did it I could you post a screenshot of how it should look cause mine dose not look like my screenshot ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
What browser are you using? There should be an option open downloads folder (after you hit the ctrl+J hotkey in your browser) that will bring you to the right folder.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
Jcee I did figure out I think to install the XML could you post a screenshot of how it should look cause mine dose not look like my screenshot I post of the start menu and taskbar get back to me please ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Thats as close as classic shell gets without any modifications


Attachments:
Screenshot (18).png
Screenshot (18).png [ 138.09 KiB | Viewed 56098 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
jcee Thats as close as classic shell gets without any modifications ? and I messed mine all up get back to me please


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 2:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
you messed it up? Post a screenshot. Also don't worry, We can get you back to how it was before by loading the old .xml


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 2:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:48 am
Posts: 233
Jcee 1 what did you mean in your screenshot Thats as close as classic shell gets without any modification ?


2 yes my task bar is white if I can get you back to this Screenshot ?


Attachments:
green cllass.JPG [92.4 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
green cllass.JPG [92.4 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 3:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Your taskbar is gray, because the screenshot you showed me had it white, if you want it green Follow the same directions as before with this code:
494009


Attachments:
Screenshot %2810%29.png
Screenshot %2810%29.png [ 60.74 KiB | Viewed 56019 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 438 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.