It is currently Wed May 12, 2021 8:08 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:29 am
Posts: 3
I use two screens, one is in landscape mode and the other one is in portrait mode. When I for instance view images there is a box on the right side which shows information about the file I view. With photos it shows the information such as shutter speed, camera and other things about the file. This also applies to other files for instance music files it shows album, bitrate and so on.

When I view this on the landscape screen it shows this info on the right side as it should, but when I view it on the portrait screen it should be on the bottom of the window like explorer in Windows 7 does it. This is because otherwise it will leave a lot of the screen unused. See screenshots and you'll understand what I mean.
I would very much apreciate a feature which detects what screen mode you use and adapts the window design to that.

Portrait mode (here I would prefer the information box on the bottom instead)
http://postimg.org/image/8ju7exbld/

Landscape mode (here it shows as it should)
http://postimg.org/image/6cqp7uaxh/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 1:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1992
Classic shell shouldn't be affecting that behavior in any way. Are you saying that it worked pre-classic shell, and not after install on the same OS?
Or have you switched to windows 8; and simply wish this feature was included?

To me it seems out of classic shells scope; and would require quite a bit of effort to accomplish.
you MAY be able to get it working again by replacing the executable with the one found on windows 7 (if thats your issue) Though I would create a system backup first, because it sounds like something that might cause issue


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:29 am
Posts: 3
I'm on a new computer? Do you mean that I can get the explorer out of my windows 7 PC and use it on my windows 8 computer?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
There is a program called OldNewExplorer: http://www.msfn.org/board/topic/170375- ... win78-one/
It lists "Restore details pane at bottom" among its features.
I have not used it myself and I don't know how stable it is or if there are any compatibility issues if you have it at the same time as Classic Explorer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:29 am
Posts: 3
Ivo wrote:
There is a program called OldNewExplorer: http://www.msfn.org/board/topic/170375- ... win78-one/
It lists "Restore details pane at bottom" among its features.
I have not used it myself and I don't know how stable it is or if there are any compatibility issues if you have it at the same time as Classic Explorer.



Thank's a lot. Seems to be working quite great.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.