It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2019 9:28 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:31 pm
Posts: 3
I'm seeing a somewhat unexpected behavior on Classic Menu vs launching via the windows search/cortana.

The stock behavior is to have you homed in user profile directory (i.e. %userprofile%), via classic menu its homed to %systemroot%\system32 (where the exe is).

Is this expected/normal? Is there a way to make it do the stock behavior?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5346
Which item are you opening - a shortcut or the cmd.exe directly?

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 5:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:31 pm
Posts: 3
Gaurav wrote:
Which item are you opening - a shortcut or the cmd.exe directly?


Just typing cmd into the 'search programs and files' box.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 3:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5346
The Microsoft Start menu/screen search in Windows 8/Windows 10 has the ability to search shortcuts even if the user types the target EXE name of the shortcut. So if you type: cmd, it will return Command Prompt. If you type: wmplayer, it will return Windows Media Player.

Every shortcut file has a "Start in" property. The command prompt shortcut has "%HOMEDRIVE%%HOMEPATH%" in the Start in. That is why it opens with the user's profile directory but when cmd.exe is run directly, it opens C:\Windows\system32.

Classic Start Menu as of Classic Shell 4.3.0 does not have the ability to show shortcuts when you type the target EXE name. It will show you shortcuts only if you type the full or partial name of the shortcut. So you have three options:

- Either type: command instead of cmd and make sure you open the shortcut called "Command Prompt". It will start in C:\Users\<your user name>

OR

- Create a shortcut called "Cmd" linking to C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe in your Start Menu -> All Programs folder and specify its "Start in" path as %HOMEDRIVE%%HOMEPATH%

OR

- Open this folder in Explorer: C:\Users\<your user name>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\System Tools\ and rename the "Command Prompt" shortcut to "Cmd".

After doing any of the above 3 things, your command prompt will open in C:\Users\<your user name> when you type: cmd

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.