It is currently Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:03 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
I'm using Windows (7) Classic Look with Classic Shell (settings file attached).

The Start button isn't 'checked' when 'active' and 'open'.


Thank you.


Attachments:
Menu Settings.xml [5.76 KiB]
Downloaded 288 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
http://www.classicshell.net/faq/#menu_button


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thank you so much.

Where is the classic Start button icon located?
If it isn't stored as an image, what are its dimensions?
And how do I set the title?

I appreciate your help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 3:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1976
It is generated by the program its size varries, though the shell icon on the button is stored within the ClassicStartMenuDLL.dll in your install directory I believe (under the icon catagory) (Use Reshacker to open/edit)
Its size also varries
You can modify the text on the button by checking "Show All Settings" then going to the start button tab, and editing the 'button text' field. the icon will scale accordingly


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thank you.

I've edited icon1 in ClassicStartMenuDLL.dll.

I'm really grateful.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Please, don't do that. You can replace the icon used by the classic button from the settings, and even pick a custom size.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thank you.

I just couldn't figure out how to do it.
I've created a 16x48 bmp file, but the title (in the button, not the tooltip) didn't show up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Hm, if you managed to replace the icon in the DLL then you must have had an ICO file, right? There is a setting to provide your own ICO file to override the one from the DLL.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thanks again.

In that Dialog Box, ICO files are unavailable. Is it possible to create a PNG file with several formats?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Ah, I see. You are using version 3.6.8.
In the latest version 4.0.2 the icon for the classic button can also be customized.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Great!
I'm going to download the new version. I've subscribed somewhere for updates. Where is the right place?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
I've just installed the new version. Perfect.

Thank you for your amazing work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 10:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
In Start Button -> Button icon, you can use:
%SystemRoot%\System32\winver.exe, 1

Those are Win7 original icons.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.