It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:53 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 1:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:45 am
Posts: 12
While playing around with custom start buttons, I noticed that the custom start button is placed right on the left edge of the screen whereas the inbuilt classic button is placed with a two pixel gap between the button and the edge.

Feature or bug? I'd say it's a bug.

P.S.: The reason I wanted to do this is to get the 3.6.6 classic button back.


Attachments:
File comment: Classic button from 3.6.6
ClassicShell.png
ClassicShell.png [ 1.27 KiB | Viewed 5680 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 3:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1981
so place 2 pixels of clear background on the image?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:45 am
Posts: 12
Surely that's a workaround, I added two pixel transparent all around and now the custom button behaves just like the classic button.

So does the classic button carry in itself a transparent two pixel border or is it indeed placed differently?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 9:06 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The classic button is not an image. It is drawn by code with the correct color, icon, size, and text. It is drawn with an offset to make it match the look of the Classic theme.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 9:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:45 am
Posts: 12
OK, so the "leave 2 pixels transparent space around the edges" like shown in the attachment is the way to go?


Attachments:
File comment: Classic Shell 3.6.6 button with extra 2 pixels space around the button
ClassicShell1.png
ClassicShell1.png [ 1.49 KiB | Viewed 5632 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 1:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Yes, if you want to use a custom button that looks like the classic button you have to manually add padding to fine-tune the position. Your example looks about right.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 12:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:45 am
Posts: 12
Thanks for the confirmation. In fact, my example is spot on ;-)
For all those who want the original XP button back, I'll attach it here.


Attachments:
File comment: XP button
xp-button1.png
xp-button1.png [ 1.36 KiB | Viewed 5560 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.