It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 10:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:25 pm
Posts: 9
I decided to upgrade my win8/10 classic shells to Open Shell and haven't had any problem. Thanks to all

Before I did that, I wanted to do at least a minimal test. My test machine is Win7. I left Open Shell on it but there is at least one thing I've noticed that might make me go back to the actual Win7 menu.

I don't have explorer jump lists. I'm referring to the area where recent/frequent programs show up and there is a dynamic submenu for recent files or in the case of explorer, locations. I do see them in Win10, but not in Win7 and I think, not in 8.1 either. I have the jumplists for say Word, but explorer doesn't even show up. In Win7 if I exit the open shell, the Win7 start menu does show explorer with the lists so they are still there.

Was wondering if there is some setting controlling this that I can't find.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 8:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1980
This should be enabled by default i think, but right click the start button go to settings
and type 'jump'
anything relevant should pop up.
im not sure specifically which features are available on which OS but as you noted
If this setting is available but not working let me know, though there isnt much else i can think of :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:25 pm
Posts: 9
I think jump lists are enabled by default. It's the specific explorer one that is missing. There doesn't seem to be a specific setting. I also searched for "explorer" and didn't see anything related.

The jumplist settings appear the same for all 3 os versions.


Attachments:
File comment: Win 10 settings
Snap3.png
Snap3.png [ 14.02 KiB | Viewed 6992 times ]
File comment: Win 8.1 settings
Snap1.png
Snap1.png [ 13.47 KiB | Viewed 6992 times ]
File comment: Win 7 settings
Snap4.png
Snap4.png [ 8.12 KiB | Viewed 6992 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 7:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:25 pm
Posts: 9
(cont)

In windows 10, open shell shows an explorer jumplist while in 7 it does not. Explorer doesn't show up even without the jumplist LibreOffice show one. But when I exit open shell, the explorer with it's jumplist appears.


Attachments:
File comment: Win 7 Native Jump List
Snap8.png
Snap8.png [ 24.65 KiB | Viewed 6992 times ]
File comment: Win 7 Open Shell Jump List
Snap7.png
Snap7.png [ 24.74 KiB | Viewed 6992 times ]
File comment: Win 10 Open Shell Jump List
Snap6.png
Snap6.png [ 30.29 KiB | Viewed 6992 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 10:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1126
All I remember is someone in the know said in order for jump-lists to appear,
the program needs to be started from within the Classic/Open shell menu.

I did a test on Win 7 with Classic shell and Open-shell.

Both show explorer jump-lists. I had to pick "Recent programs".


Pinning explorer to menu will force it to show jump-lists for frequent programs.
I don't know, maybe it all sorts itself out the more the menu is used?


Attachments:
no diff.png
no diff.png [ 92.02 KiB | Viewed 6979 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 11:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1126
I would also check the Windows 7 taskbar properties,
for some of the jump-list settings might interact with other start menus?


Attachments:
Win 7 settings.png
Win 7 settings.png [ 94.65 KiB | Viewed 6974 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 5:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:25 pm
Posts: 9
I've got all the settings you show. Win8.1 seems to be showing a jump list having started it from the menu, but Win7 needs some playing with. I currently have two listed one with no jumps. The other with one jump that must be from maybe a year or so ago. But I think you put me on the right track here.

thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.