It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:37 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AutoMaximize Windows
PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:27 pm
Posts: 23
would maximize automatically every maximizable window, when new windows of apps/Explorer etc opening.
Is it a feature can be included in Classic Shell?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AutoMaximize Windows
PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 3:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1981
interesting; and actually makes a lot of sense, in most cases whatever you run is what you will be working on, maximized.

as far as classic shell adding a feature to auto-maximize windows as they are created, i don't think IVO will add this option as it seems a little beyond the current bounds of the program. (but of course I'm not IVO and the decision is his to make)

ill admit, there are quite a few programs that i go straight for that maximize button the second i open them, almost every time, and it would be interesting not to have to.

I believe that with AutoHotkey: http://www.autohotkey.com/ (not endorsed by classic shell)
you could probably create a script that mimics this function fairly easily (especially since it has its own hotkey: Win+up)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AutoMaximize Windows
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
This is technically a window manager feature, not a shell feature. There is this free app called AutoSizer. Does it do what you want?

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AutoMaximize Windows
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 3:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:27 pm
Posts: 23
You're right, this feature should be included in AutoSizer.

I made ​​contact with the Support of AutoSizer before 4 months (Dec 2012) to ask them about this feature, and these are their answers:

Quote:
AutoSizer will open any window you add to its list, maximized if you want.
It can't open random windows that aren't in its list.

I'll add it to the list. A few other people suggested it as well. Next release in a few weeks hopefully!

Unfortunately, their website remains the same for those 4 months, and their software has not been upgraded yet.

The last 2 weeks I gave it a chance again, I turned to them again, and I was waiting for their answer, but they still did not return an answer.

Now I want to know if Ivo want to go for it, or if not, so I'll know if I should go and ask someone else.
Thank You.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AutoMaximize Windows
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
No plans for that. Classic Shell focuses on integration with Explorer, not arbitrary applications and windows.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AutoMaximize Windows
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:27 pm
Posts: 23
Thank You


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.