It is currently Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:18 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Copy UI
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thank you for 'Classic Shell'. I really appreciate your amazing work.

When using the old Copy UI the file's icon is not displayed.
Is there a setting I've missed?


Last edited by Yaron on Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Copy UI
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Does this happen always, or only sometimes?
I have seen the icons not showing up occasionally, however it also happens for the new UI as well.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Copy UI
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thanks for the immediate reply.

With the new UI the icon is always displayed.
I've recently installed 'Classic Shell' and so far the icon hasn't been displayed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Copy UI
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
It may be an issue with the RTL version of the copy dialog box.
Try switching the language to English from the Classic Explorer settings. You will have to log off for the settings to change.
Then try copying a file again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Copy UI
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thanks again.

I've switched to English, logged off and then in, and the copy dialog box is still in Hebrew.
It's not a major issue. I really like 'Classic Shell'.

May I seize the opportunity and ask you 2 more questions?

1) I'm also using 'Classic Start Menu' (Thanks for that as well).
Is it possible to shutdown by just pressing the 'Shutdown' button without the extra dialog box?

2) Can I use large icons for the Back/Forward/Up buttons in Windows Explorer?


I appreciate your help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Copy UI
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
0) Did you change the setting in Windows, or in the Classic Explorer settings? If you changed it in Classic Explorer and it is still not English, that's a problem.

1) Open the settings, go to the Customize Start Menu tab, and double-click on ShutdownBoxItem. Then change the command to whatever you want it to do, for example just "shutdown".

2) You can change the size of the Up button from the Up Button tab in the settings, however the icon only exists in 30x30 and 36x36 sizes. You can enter a different size but it will look ugly. You may provide your own icon at any size you want. There is no way to change the Back/Forward buttons, as they are part of Explorer, not Classic Shell.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Copy UI
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thank you for your time and for the detailed explanation.


Copy UI.
- Yesterday I made a mistake and switched users withouth logging off. I apologize.
Logging off and then back on does change the language to English, but the icon is still not displayed.

I've customized the Up Button's size and the behavior of the ShutdownBoxItem. It's great!

Could you please refer me to the location of the Hibernation/Restart icons?
If they are not included in Win 7, I can copy them from Win xp.


Best regards.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Copy UI
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Windows XP doesn't have power action icons stored in ICO format, but as images inside some DLL. You can find many free ready-to-use high quality icons at sites like iconfinder.com, iconarchive.com, findicons.com

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Copy UI
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thank you. I appreciate your help.

I was looking for that DLL, couldn't find it and was curious. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.