It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:10 am
Posts: 5
I tried searching before posting this but I was told that "right" and "click" were too common and so it wouldn't let me do it. I'm not sure if this is CSM related, but it seems like it could be. I'm not sure when this happened, but maybe starting roughly a month or so ago I can no longer click on any running program or pinned program icon on my taskbar. When I do, nothing happens, as if I didn't click at all. I can right click the taskbar itself, and the start menu, time/date, and programs running in the system tray, but not any running program or pinned icon. I just updated to 4.3.1, didn't make a difference. I'm on Win 10 x64 and it's up to date as of this post (just checked).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
To check if Classic Shell is the cause of the issue, right click the Start button and choose Exit. This will end all effects of Classic Shell until you restart it. Now try right clicking on any program. If nothing happens still, there is something broken in your Windows 10 and it is not caused by Classic Shell.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:10 am
Posts: 5
I don't see an "exit" option when I right click the start button.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:10 am
Posts: 5
https://ibb.co/mBnQCQ
That's what right clicking the start button looks like.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
OK, then to exit the Start Menu you can try either of the two things:
- Shift+right click on Start button and choose Exit.

OR

- Press Win+R keys together on the keyboard to open the Run dialog. In it, type or copy-paste the following text and click OK:

C:\Program Files\Classic Shell\ClassicStartMenu.exe -exit

Either of these methods will exit Classic Shell's Start Menu. Then all its effects on the Windows Taskbar are reversed.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:10 am
Posts: 5
Guess it's something else then, right-click still didn't work. Thanks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:56 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Limerick, Ireland
This does appear to be an issue that is triggered by Classic Shell.

Please refer to my other post http://www.classicshell.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=8052

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:10 am
Posts: 5
In my case it seemed to fix itself on its own. I don't know what happened (maybe a windows update?) But a couple months ago my taskbar started working 100% normally again. I'm still using CS too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:56 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Update:

This is a conflict relating to the Windows hide taskbar option. Unhiding the task bar removes the issue. However, on this particular machine it seems to be triggered by installing Classic Shell.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
Can you reliably reproduce the problem when the taskbar is hidden, and it goes away when the taskbar is not hidden? I'm assuming you are talking about the "auto-hide" taskbar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:56 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Still investigating this. The bug seems to come and go with no discernable reason. Rebooting seems to cause it, but logging off and logging on (without rebooting) seems to cure it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.