It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2019 7:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 13
GauravK wrote:
Classic Shell 4.0.4 introduces Group Policy support for its own settings. The file, C:\Program Files\Classic Shell\PolicyDefinitions.zip includes the policy definitions. If you have an Active Directory domain, extract the files to %logonserver%\sysvol\%userdnsdomain%\policies\PolicyDefinitions\ or whatever your Group Policy Central Store is. For Local Group Policy, extract them to C:\Windows\PolicyDefinitions folder.


I tried this, attached is one of the error messages I'm getting.
I'm running Windows 8.1 Enterprise 32-bit


Attachments:
ResourceFile.png
ResourceFile.png [ 6.84 KiB | Viewed 6093 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Looks like you are missing the corresponding .adml file for the current language (like C:\WindowsPolicyDefinitions\en-US\Classicexplorer.adml)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 13
Thanks, that fixed it. I must have not copied that folder out of the zip.

Now, maybe I'm not find the policy I'd like to find, but is there a way to make Classic Explorer not show its toolbar by default?
Whenever a new user is created and they login, they seem to have that toolbar.

I tried (possibly incorrectly) to export / import the registry settings like I did for the start menu.
It worked for the start menu settings, to bring them into local machine, but didn't seem to do the same for Classic Explorer, in the case of its toolbar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 2:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
This is a feature I am considering for the next version.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 2:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 13
I figured it out from another topic thankfully, but forgot to update my post. : )
Thankfully the forums here are easy to search. I really appreciate your help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Starting with Classic Shell 4.2.0 Beta, there is a new GPO setting "No initial showing of the toolbar" to prevent the showing of the toolbar when Explorer is opened for the first time.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.