It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2019 5:53 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
For
Restart
and
Shutdown

submenus, of the shut down directory of the startmenu..

a confirmation dialogue fi i ever click on shutdown or restart by mistake


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Nice new feature
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5349
That is why the commands are in a submenu so the user doesn't shutdown or restart by mistake.

Also, for Windows 7 style of the menu, you can use the command called "Shutdown...." as the default Shutdown command. It shows a confirmation dialog with all the restart options.

If you are using the Classic Style of the menu, the same command is called shutdown_box.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Nice new feature
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
"That is why the commands are in a submenu so the user doesn't shutdown or restart by mistake."
Yes, but i'm using the open start menu on hover, & that mistake sometimes happens

i'm on windows 8 using: windows 7 basic skin
the warning i need is both for:
shutdown
&
restart

so if i follow you, for shutdown, i need: "Shutdown...."

& restart ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Nice new feature
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 6:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5349
I don't understand. Putting the commands inside a submenu is itself the protection so an action like Shutdown or Restart doesn't get triggered accidentally. Even if you open the main menu using hover, how is one likely to accidentally open the shutdown submenu at that same instance and then also accidentally click Restart or Shutdown? You should exercise caution if you are opening the submenu itself. Introducing one more confirmation will result in users complaining of too many clicks.

As for the case if you use "Restart" or "Shutdown" as the default Shutdown command in the main Start Menu, you can change it to use the Shutdown dialog as the default Shutdown command, so it will show you a confirmation dialog:


This is your confirmation dialog which is already present. You can press R to switch to Restart or S to switch to Shutdown. You can add this dialog by going to Customize Start Menu tab. Locate Shutdown in the left column and double click it to bring up the Edit Menu Item dialog. Change the command to "shutdown_box".

Or you could also install the freeware app, ShutdownGuard to prevent accidental restart or shutdown: http://winaero.com/blog/avoid-accidental-and-automatic-shut-down-or-restart-with-shutdownguard/ It adds an additional confirmation to block automated/programmatic shutdowns/restarts.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
"I don't understand. Putting the commands inside a submenu is itself the protection so an action like Shutdown or Restart doesn't get triggered accidentally"
it definitely does..

"You should exercise caution if you are opening the submenu itself."

I don't open it myself, that's the magick of popup on mouse hover priviledges..

My situation:
1) i use the mouse on hover feature to open start menu
2) i move my mouse around the screen in my webrowser
3) accidentally, i am near the start button & the menu pops up
4) i quickly move my arrow to the right to click on the browser page to be focused on it & auto close the start menu again
5) while moving the cursor to the left, the shutdown menu opens while i click on the page & accidentally click on "retart
6) i lose all my work & open windows in edition mode since days ... .

So this magic thing happened to me more than once, magick things can happen with startmenu lol ))

So i reordered the shutdown submenu & added the lock & sleep feature on top
& what i'd like is a "Are you sure.. Yes Cancel/No" dialog after i clicked
restart or shutdown using your startmenu ..

& not a second menu like the one you've shown above, where i have to reselect again,
shutdown or restart after having already selected it through classicshalls startmenu..

is that possible ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
No, sorry, not possible. Part of it is the localization issue. Only the logoff gets a confirmation because it is the only one for which the text is present in Windows.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 12:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
it would be nice if you could add the "are you sure" yes/no warning as an option for close & restart


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:04 pm
Posts: 468
you could check here viewtopic.php?f=5&t=281
and see if you can do something like that for restart.. so it delays.. then you can make a cancel restart button as well..

I dont remember if it works with restart though


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
Hi Tenzen, it's a bit invasive & useless bitmaps.. i'd rather let Ivo try to implement the option if possible,
or would like what you suggest me eventually but as an option, or hidden patch for 5 mins. with a restart now/Cancel button
when i click on restart or shutdown. what i don't want to see is the shutdown timer menu in startup menu..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:04 pm
Posts: 468
well, it would be cool, but then you'd also be limited to its usefulness unless Ivo could add an option to enter the time you want for it to delay, then also allow multiple instances with multiple times.. and include it for both shutdown & restart.. and then include another button for cancelling any restart/shutdown

one of the nicer features of a Mac is that you get that delayed dialog with a cancel button. thats what you mean right?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
"one of the nicer features of a Mac is that you get that delayed dialog with a cancel button. thats what you mean right?"
Lol.. what's the point ? i'm not moving to mac because mac has "one" feature that windows hasn't & can be implemented
on windows in a way or another.. if i listed the thousands of features mac doesn't have & windows have, you'd be astonished ))

In fact, the delay is not important to me, just a warning once i clicked on restart or shutdown accidentally, so i have a second
chance to turn back to what i was doing .. . So invasive buttons with various minutes is a bit too much.

But in Shut Down "menu", a reference called Shut Down in.. would be good
so a window pops-up & i can either enter [] minutes or [] days

when tasks are running and you have to leave your house for a day or weekend,
it's useful.

when a task is running & takes a day or two to finish, and you go to holidays,
setting a day or two to shut down the pc is usefull.

But minutes everywhere in the start menu is a bit invasive & not what i'd call a "clean"
method .. .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 7:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
Sharing a nice tool..

For a lock+standby timer, i've found the perfect tool, it's called:
Hypershutdown 2.2,
i've sent an update request to the author, "Days" was missing for the countdown field,
& "At date" in the "time specific" field..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 11:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
& the missing one that resolves my expectations on this topic:
http://retired.beyondlogic.org/solution ... utdown.htm

For a restart, you can use this type of command line:
"C:\Program Files\Tools\shutdown.exe" -s reboot -f -l 30 -m "Are you sure you want to restart your system?"

& to shutdown the pc:
"C:\Program Files\Tools\shutdown.exe" -f -l 30 -m "Are you sure you want to shutdown your system?"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.