Classic Shell
http://www.classicshell.net/forum/

Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed
http://www.classicshell.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1713
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Yaron [ Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed

Type regedit in the Search Box and open the program from the list.
The next time you press the Start button, menus don't show popup items.

Thank you.

Author:  Ivo [ Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed

What do you mean by "don't show popup items"?
What version of Classic Shell are you using?
What style for the menu?

Author:  Yaron [ Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed

Hello Ivo,

v4.0.2.
Win 7 Classic Look theme.
CS -> Start Menu Style -> Classic.
CS -> Skin -> Classic.

*
When hovering over a menu (e.g. Settings), it does NOT open and display its items.
The only workaround I've found is pressing the Search Box and then pressing a menu.

Thank you.

Attachments:
CS.png
CS.png [ 24.19 KiB | Viewed 7132 times ]

Author:  Ivo [ Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed

Ah, right. The classic style ignores the hovering if the search box is activated by a mouse click. People often clicked on the search box, then moved the mouse away (over some item) then start typing. If the mouse happens to be over a sub-menu, it will be expanded and will steal the keyboard from the search box. This causes some random item to be executed.

Author:  Yaron [ Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed

Thank you. I appreciate your help.

It happens with all styles.

I'm not sure I was clear enough.
I type regedit in the Search Box and when regedit.exe appears in the list I click it.
The Start menu closes.
When I Press it again, the sub menus don't show up.

Author:  Ivo [ Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed

Save your settings to XML file and attach them here.

Author:  Yaron [ Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed

Thank you. I appreciate it.

Attachments:
Menu Settings.xml [5.38 KiB]
Downloaded 284 times

Author:  P_Cezar [ Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed

Yep. Posting just to confirm this.
After executing a search, you have to click the menu items for displaying the submenus, they don't open on hovering anymore.

Environment: Windows 8.1 64bits / Classic Shell 4.0.2 / Classic Style.

Thank you.

Author:  Gaurav [ Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed

The issue was reproduced and will be fixed in the next version.

Author:  P_Cezar [ Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Menus Don't Show Popups After Search is Executed  Topic is solved

Just installed Classic Shell 4.0.4 and this issue is gone. :-)

Great job as always.

Thank you.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/