It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
Hi,
We'd like to start a new localization for Scottish Gaelic. Is the method still to grab the ClassicShellLoc.zip and translate the files indicated? Just wondering because I'm sure there's a lot of repetition which could be made easier using some translation memory function?

The other question I have is - if a user has a Win 8 langpack installed and installs ClassicShell over it, does the langpack still work?

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
Yes, the contents of ClassicShellLoc.zip needs to be translated. I don't know what you mean by "translation memory function".

Classic Shell does not affect langpacks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
Thanks.

What I mean is that if you translate an ini file (or any sort of file like that) "manually", you end up wasting quite a lot of time because you have to re-translate stuff again and again. Say "Open" which occurs many times in software menus. If you use something called a translation memory, it remembers things you already translated and tries to match them to untranslated items when a translator is translating, often saving a lot of typing and time. (In case you're worried now, it doesn't automatically translate, it just suggests to the translator that a match exists and the translator then decides if they want to use it or not).

Since this is not a commercial project, you could host it on Transifex for free (for example). It can handle ini files and has an inbuilt translation memory. So translators could translate on Transifex and all you have to do periodically is to pull the translated files from Transifex.

In the long term, it will probably make your life easier too, because you won't have loads of different files flying around once you get more languages participating.

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
The ini files are the least of the problem. The majority of the text is in a DLL, and besides the text there is dialog resources and even images. If one translator wants to use such website or other tool to make the job easier, that's fine by me. The end result needs to be a DLL.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
Ok, I've translated the 3 ini's for starters. For some reason I could not edit them directly, so I saved the English bits under a different name. This may not be what you had in mind - if you let me know what I should have done, I'll do it differently next time.

I uploaded them here

So what happens next? Is there a release schedule?

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
This weekend I will prepare a DLL with the ini files and send it to you. When you confirm that it is showing up properly on your end I will release it.
There is no schedule. I specifically designed the system so I can release new translations independently of the main software because people work on translations on their own time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
That's great - thank you very much!

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 11:19 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
Try this:
Go to the %ALLUSERSPROFILE% folder (usually C:\ProgramData). Create a sub-folder called "Classic Shell". Inside it create 2 subfolders named "Flags" and "Languages".

Download the attached gd-GB.zip file. Inside it you will find gd-GB.bmp an gd-GB.dll. Put the BMP file and put it in the Flags folder and the DLL in the Languages folder.

Go to the Classic Shell settings, open the Language tab, and you will see a new entry for "Scottish Gaelic (United Kingdom)". Select it, press OK, then log off and log in. The start menu should be in Scottish now.

If you confirm that the text appears correct on your end, I will publish this file on the website.


Attachments:
gd-GB.zip [25.77 KiB]
Downloaded 223 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 12:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
Thanks, will try this tonight.

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
Hm not doing this right. Under C:\ProgramData there are no user folders but under C:\Cleachdaichean (gd for C:\Users) I have All Users, Default, Default User, Home and Poblach (Public). I created the folder under All Users but the flag doesn't come up in settings (although amusingly it does pick up on my system language as gd-GB but no icon) and when I sign out and back in, no change, all in English.

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
Instead of trying to guess the folder, press Win+R then type %ALLUSERSPROFILE% in the box. This will open the correct folder.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
I just tried that and the first thing I see smiling at me is the Classic Shell folder I created ;)

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:28 am
Posts: 3
Many thanks Ivo and Michael. I've just tried it on the the Scottish Gaelic version of win 8.0 enterprise. Seems to work fine but perhaps not all of the translations are in yet. For instance, on the right hand side of the first start menu I see; My Documents, My Pictures, Computer, Recent Items, A' phanail smachd, Ceanglaichean-lionraidh, Clò-bhualadairean, Lorg, Cobhair is Taic, Ruith, Dùin sìos. Should more of these be in Gaelic? Or can these items not be changed?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:25 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
Many of the menu names items come from the system. If your system shows them in English, that's what you'll see in the menu.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:28 am
Posts: 3
You're right Ivo, that seems to be my problem. On the original win 8 start screen most of my Metro apps are in Gaelic while quite a lot in the "all apps" menu are in English still. I'll have to check if I've configured win 8 correctly. It seems that the ClassicShell part of the translation is working fine then. Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
Quote:
I see; My Documents, My Pictures, Computer, Recent Items

Unless you selected the option of updating these folder names, these are inherited i.e. in our case remain in English.

Quote:
It seems that the ClassicShell part of the translation is working fine then. Thanks again.

Ok, I'm happy to give it the all clear in that case, it may just be my system but since the primary reason was for Dòmhnall's college wanting this tool, if it's working for them that's the most important issue. Maybe proper install will sort the issue on my system too.

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:28 am
Posts: 3
I sorted out my win 8 Gaelic installation and now ClassicShell looks a lot better!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2013 4:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
The DLL is now available for download here: http://www.classicshell.net/translations/ and from the Classic Shell settings.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
Thanks - my version actually auto-updated itself with the new language, very neatly done, thanks very much! I'll see if I can translate some more over Xmas but I've got a bit of a backlog on LibreOffice I need to sort first. Again, many thanks for your tool and support!

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 3:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 am
Posts: 10
Hiya
I went to check if any of the strings need updating and downloaded the 2014 zip under Translations but I can't find any of the Gaelic translations in the StartMenuL10N.ini or the other two ini files. But since the Menu button comes up in Gaelic in the latest version still, they must be somewhere?

Also I noticed that there is now a csv, which looks handy. Reading your post about the l10n process, I take it that covers Level 1 and 2 but not 3 (which is fine for us, it would mainly be Level 2 I'd be interested in adding). So it's ok if I just send you the csv from now on?

Thanks!

_________________
Do, or do not. There is no try.
Am Faclair BeagiGàidhlig, do charaid airson bathar-bog na Gàidhlig: Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Skype is mòran a bharrachd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 8:37 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
The L10N.ini files only contain the original languages. The Gaelic text is in the gd-GB.DLL.

Yes, you can send me the CSV. However send it to me after you translate the first few lines to verify if the format is correct. It is important that the files is tab-separated UTF-16 with BOM.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Scottish Gaelic
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 11:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
Hi. For the next version I need the text "Remove highlight" translated into Gaelic. Can you please send it to me?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.