It is currently Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:08 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:35 pm
Posts: 27
Ivo,
I have been setting up some customization for our users. It involves setting up the UI and then exporting the settings to a reg file and placing then into the default user ntuser.dat. This involves some reorganization of the menu like Documents, Favorites Music and Pictures in alphabetic order. This bit works fine. However I also, in a similar way, move "Administrative Tools" item above "Control Panel" and enable it. For the new user this item is broken in the Customize Start Menu tab in that the text has gone from the Command Column; also in the start menu the text is gone; it does correctly point to Admin Tools though.
If you want the reg file of these changes let me know. Maybe I am just doing something wrong.
Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 11:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Can you try attaching the XML so what is wrong can be spotted. :)

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:54 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
What happens if you apply the .reg file manually?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:35 pm
Posts: 27
Ivo and GauravK,
Please find attached the reg (note I changed extension to txt as reg will not upload) file that we export and the import into default user ntuser.dat.


Attachments:
CSM-3-9.txt [13.76 KiB]
Downloaded 388 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:06 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
This one applied fine on my machine and seems to be working.
Show me the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\IvoSoft\ClassicStartMenu\Settings key from a machine that doesn't work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:35 pm
Posts: 27
Ivo,
I have worked out what the problem is. If the folder %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Administrative Tools doesn't exist then CSM shows <No Text> in the menu. The link works correctly though to the system Admin Tools folder. If you create the folder log off and back on the correct text appears. Can you make this work if no user side folder exists?
It's not a problem as I now just make sure the folder exists in the Default profile.
Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:37 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Huh? How do you expect to place a non-existing folder in the start menu?
When the command is "admin", then the text, icon, and most importantly - the sub-menu come from the system. If that folder doesn't exist there is nothing I can do.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:35 pm
Posts: 27
Ivo,
If I create the folder C:\Users\Default\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Administrative Tools then when an user account is first created it gets built in the users profile and I don't get the missing text.
Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:52 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Hm, I see.
The admin item is one of those special items that combine two folders. At the moment I am assuming that both exist. Maybe I can relax the requirement and make it work if only one of the two exists.
You may get weird results though. If you drop an item in that folder and the user folder doesn't exist, the menu will try to add it to the common folder and potentially complain that you don't have admin rights.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:35 pm
Posts: 27
I don't think it is a problem. On another system I tested the same reg file settings and it worked fine. On this machine the system seemed to know to create the folder in the users local start menu - I didn't need to pre-create it. Maybe just a glitch on this build I am working on.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.