It is currently Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:44 am
Posts: 6
Dear All,
installed w 8.1 now I can'r skip the metro screen. The option to do so has disappeared from the general Behaviours tab. When starting up the metro screen requires a password. How do I get round that problem
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:44 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
First, looks like you are confusing the login screen with the metro screen. The setting in Classic Shell controls what happens AFTER you log in - either to go to the metro screen or to go to the desktop.

Second, the setting has been moved to the Windows 8.1 tab.

Third, the setting doesn't do much. It is tied to the Windows 8.1's own setting, which you can find in the Navigation tab in the taskbar properties.

Fourth, this thread describes how to disable the password screen: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1318&view=unread#unread


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:44 am
Posts: 6
Checked the option on suggested option. Not working. Also the start menu is not displaying the correct (Aero) Windows 7 menu options
Thanks for the suggestions


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Well, I can't help you much with the login screen. This is not a Classic Shell feature.

I don't understand what you mean by "not displaying the correct (Aero) Windows 7 menu options". A screenshot will be helpful.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:44 am
Posts: 6
How do you set Classic Shell so that it goes directly to the desktop. Under windows I was not asked for any password. W 8.1 help suggestions are not comprehensive.
When I click the Start button a flat blue background is displayed behind the menu options.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Can you provide a screenshot if the blue background? I have not seen anything like that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:44 am
Posts: 6
Attached screen grab. Any suggestions about skipping the metro screen? To re-iterate the machine starts up at the lock screen. There is an exclamation icon over the normal icon bottom LH corner. The one yoou have to click on the enter the next screen.


Attachments:
File comment: Screen Grab
Untitled-1.jpg
Untitled-1.jpg [ 348.25 KiB | Viewed 15425 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 6:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The "blue background" is the start menu :) It looks like the Windows 8 skin with black buttons, black text, and disabled transparency.
If you don't like it you can change the skin settings or pick a different skin.

I am still not sure what you are asking about the metro screen.

If you mean the screen where you type your password, that is not the metro screen. That's the login screen. Classic Shell has no powers over that. If the instructions in my first reply don't work for you, then there is not much more I can suggest.

If you really mean the metro screen (the one with the colored tiles) and you want to skip it AFTER you log in, then look for the setting called "Skip Metro screen" in the "Windows 8.1 Settings" tab.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5349
The relevant settings you need are as Ivo said:
- "Skip Metro screen" on the Windows 8.1 Settings tab
- From the Skin tab, you can change it to the Aero skin
- To skip the password at startup or lockscreen, follow the instructions carefully in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1318&view=unread#unread

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:44 am
Posts: 6
"From the Skin tab, you can change it to the Aero skin"
This worked. However going to Windows 8.1 tab and checking the "Skip Metro Screen" options had no effect.
I am about to restart after applying the advice on this video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rai8a763USQ
I let you know if it works.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 8:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:44 am
Posts: 6
The you tube video solved the problem of requiring a password to login and the suggestion to check the "Aero option in Skin tab. We are back in business. Thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.