Classic Shell
http://www.classicshell.net/forum/

Doesn't autostart after reboot
http://www.classicshell.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1004
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Corso [ Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Doesn't autostart after reboot  Topic is solved

The menu doesn't autostart after reboot. I have to manually click the exefile to start the menu after i log in.
It is set to start at login in classic shell settings.
Also the import of the menu settings (xml file) doesn't work either.
Nothing happens after import, no changes.
I uninstalled v3.6.8 first and did a clean install of the beta 3.9.0
I'm using Windows 8 Pro x64 OEM

Author:  Ivo [ Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Export your XML settings and attach them here.

Author:  Corso [ Sat Jul 27, 2013 11:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Ivo wrote:
Export your XML settings and attach them here.


I've attached my menu settings. (XML file)

Attachments:
Menu Settings.xml [7.14 KiB]
Downloaded 499 times

Author:  Gaurav [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 4:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Corso, when you import the settings, observe if nothing is getting imported or whether the Start Menu settings are getting imported but the skin settings and menu items are not getting imported.

Author:  Ivo [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 7:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

This XML files is from version 3.6.8. I need you to export the settings from 3.9.0 and attach here.

Author:  Corso [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Yes, the XML file settings is from and made in v3.6.8.
So i need that file imported in v3.9.0
I thought it could be imported the same from newer versions?

Author:  Corso [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

GauravK,
The way i have put the layout in the menu,
is what is not getting imported/fixed when i import the XML file.
From the "customize start menu" and the layout itself where all is in the menu.

Author:  Gaurav [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Yes, the layout of the menu on Customize Start Menu=menu items. Rest of the settings=menu settings. Settings on the skin tab=skin settings. When importing the XML right now, only menu settings are being preserved. Skin settings and menu items are being lost.

In the next version or definitely before the final version is released, this should change so that they are preserved when importing the XML.

Author:  Ivo [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

The current 3.9.0 doesn't import all settings correctly from older XMLs. This is being fixed for 3.9.1.
I am asking for XML from the current 3.9.0 version to look at possible reasons why it doesn't start at login.

Author:  Corso [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Ivo wrote:
The current 3.9.0 doesn't import all settings correctly from older XMLs. This is being fixed for 3.9.1.
I am asking for XML from the current 3.9.0 version to look at possible reasons why it doesn't start at login.


Ok i see.
I have to reinstall v 3.9.0 again and i will report back.
Thanks.

Author:  Corso [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Ivo wrote:
The current 3.9.0 doesn't import all settings correctly from older XMLs. This is being fixed for 3.9.1.
I am asking for XML from the current 3.9.0 version to look at possible reasons why it doesn't start at login.

I've attached the XML file from v3.9.0

Attachments:
Menu Settingsv390.xml [1.12 KiB]
Downloaded 417 times

Author:  Ivo [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

I don't see anything out of the ordinary.
What exactly is happening? You log in, but it doesn't transition to the desktop?
If you click on the desktop tile, do you see a start menu?

Author:  Corso [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Ivo wrote:
I don't see anything out of the ordinary.
What exactly is happening? You log in, but it doesn't transition to the desktop?
If you click on the desktop tile, do you see a start menu?

I install v3.9.0 and then the menu start and seem fine.
I import the settings from XML file but doesn't import it.
I restart/reboot the computer and the menu does not start,
and i see just the metro start menu. So i have to start the menu from metro start menu,
or click the exe file on harddrive to start it.

It's really weird. I have tried several times. I also tried to put Classic Shell exes in exclusion
in ESET Smart Security HIPS just to see if that did it. But no difference.

If i install back v3.6.8 Everything works perfect.
Just not this v3.9.0

Author:  Ivo [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Still, if you do not start the exe manually, but click on the desktop tile, do you see a start menu?
I am trying to determine if the start menu is running just doesn't switch to the desktop.

Author:  Corso [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Ivo wrote:
Still, if you do not start the exe manually, but click on the desktop tile, do you see a start menu?
I am trying to determine if the start menu is running just doesn't switch to the desktop.

I'm not sure i understand what you mean. "click on the desktop tile?"
When i log in, computer start, i can't see the desktop at all since metro start menu is showing.
(just like how it is if Classic Shell wasn't installed at all). To show the desktop i have to click in the metro menu.
(just how it is if Classic Shell wasn't installed at all)
So to start it i have to either find it in metro start menu and start it from there by clicking,
or manually click the exe file from harddisk.

Seems something is prevents it from starting automatically in my computer,
i just can't figure out what.

Author:  Ivo [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

That's what I mean, click in the metro menu (on the desktop tile). Or press Win+D, which is another way to activate the desktop.
Report if you see a start button or not. Also check in the task manager if there is a process called ClassicStartMenu.exe.

Author:  Corso [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Ivo wrote:
That's what I mean, click in the metro menu (on the desktop tile). Or press Win+D, which is another way to activate the desktop.
Report if you see a start button or not. Also check in the task manager if there is a process called ClassicStartMenu.exe.

I see. (Yes that was what i meant too, the desktop tile it's called ok)
No, when i login, i don't see any process of ClassicStartMenu.exe
(It's not running)
There's no start button either.Nothing.
Just like i was saying, like it wasn't installed.

Strange :/

Author:  Corso [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

I think i have found the problem. For some reason the ClassicStartMenu.exe file
was set to run as admin under properties. I unchecked it and now it starts automatically
when i log in/start computer. Awesome.

I hope the import all settings from XML file is beeing fixed in the next version.

And also i really hope you never ever remove the xp menu style.
Thats why i use classic shell, since no other startmenu replacements have that.

Thank you for your patience and support :)

Author:  Jcee [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 4:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

i'm pretty sure the cascading menu style is here to stay in classic shell :P, the xp themes too probably

Author:  Gaurav [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 5:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

In 3.9.0/4.0, the "XP style" is replaced by "Classic with two columns" style. Nothing is removed :) but it doesn't activate the XP skin by default as it's a mismatch for the Windows 8/7 environments but you can still select the "Windows XP" skin from the "Skin" tab after setting it to "Classic with two columns" cascading style.

Author:  Corso [ Sun Jul 28, 2013 6:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Yes, thats what i mean the "Classic with two columns" cascading style,
which Windows XP have.
Stardock Start8 and the others don't have that, they only have the win7 style menu.
So thats why i love Classic Shell. :)
Seriously, you have done an outstanding nice job with Classic Shell.
It saves Windows 8.

So thanks again! :)

Author:  Carson [ Thu Aug 01, 2013 3:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

—It saved Windows 7, too.

For me, the Up-Arrow on the toolbar was enough, all by itself, to stay with XP. I went to Windows 7 only after Classic Shell came out and provided that Up-Arrow.

But then I made the mistake of gleefully announcing that to three friends. Not one of them cared. Well, none of them was especially "involved" with computer esoterica, but I was still surprised. I found quite a few rather heated arguments on the web about it, too. I suppose Classic Shell has provided different strokes for different folks. But, for me, Classic Shell "makes" Windows 7.

Author:  Jcee [ Thu Aug 01, 2013 3:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

the 'average' user doesn't really care about much on the pc.. they need there media player, and there internet icon... :P i know people who couldn't locate the C drive without instructions... I actually prefer explorer over the browser built into a media player :P, unlike most

Author:  supraspecies [ Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Doesn't autostart after reboot

Corso wrote:
I hope the import all settings from XML file is beeing fixed in the next version.
Frankly, I don't even see the point. I've integrated CS into my unattended Windows 7 installation, and I import all my settings with a REG file. Importing/exporting registry entries is so easy, that I don't see any reason to mess with XML.

...for users who don't even know how to use registry? Such users don't use Classic Shell.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/