It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:53 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:41 am
Posts: 26
I am trying to disable right context menu bar on Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard 64 bit.

Is there way to do from classics Shell?


Attachments:
right click context menu.png
right click context menu.png [ 32.73 KiB | Viewed 4111 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 11:22 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Argentina
You can disable right-context menu of the start menu with Classic Shell from the Start Menu Settings; follow Administrative settings help topic instructions if you need to lock or change the value at an enterprise network level, either through the Registry or Group Policy.
You cannot disable the right-context menu of Explorer, but Windows already includes group policies for doing it.
See the GP User Settings\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\File Explorer\Remove File Explorer default context menu. Since this setting —as its own help states— doesn't prevent the users from using commands available on the context menu through other methods, you should also configure the policy Remove File menu from File Explorer.

Hope it helps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:41 am
Posts: 26
Hi Galadurian ,

I am really appreciate for your response. I am able to disable right context but there are still some menu shows from classic menu. I need to complete disable that menu too. Can you please suggest/help? I have attached snap shot of classic context right click menu .


Attachments:
classic shell start button right click.png
classic shell start button right click.png [ 67.34 KiB | Viewed 4042 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:41 am
Posts: 26
Here is another one right click context menu from Classic shell.


Attachments:
context classic shell.JPG
context classic shell.JPG [ 22.7 KiB | Viewed 4042 times ]
context classic shell.JPG
context classic shell.JPG [ 22.7 KiB | Viewed 4042 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
Rename or delete the help file at C:\Program Files\Classic Shell\ClassicShell.chm.

There is a Registry DWORD value supported in HKLM\Software\IvoSoft\ClassicStartMenu called "EnableSettings". Set it to 0 to fully disable the Settings dialog.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:41 am
Posts: 26
Hi Gaurav.

Thank you for your prompt response. Yes. I renamed file at C:\Program Files\Classic Shell\ClassicShell.chm.

Also set as value 0 for "EnableSetting" from the local gpedit.msc
HKLM\Software\IvoSoft\ClassicStartMenu called "EnableSettings". Set it to 0 to fully disable the Settings dialog.

But still showing same menu.


Attachments:
Classicshell registry.JPG
Classicshell registry.JPG [ 54.69 KiB | Viewed 4026 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
Your screenshot shows HKCU. The instructions mention HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE. Also, after the change, you will have to log out and sign in again.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:41 am
Posts: 26
Hi Gaurav,


Thanks for you correction. Yes. I did setup 0 for "EnableSetting" from the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE. but still showing context right menu.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
You have to restart the menu after you change the registry manually. Log off and log in.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:41 am
Posts: 26
Yes. I restated and still same . By the way. I have Domain group policy , does it make any different?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
Post a screenshot again of what menu you are getting now.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:41 am
Posts: 26
I did setup 0 for "EnableSetting" from the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE. but still showing context right menu.


Attachments:
context menu after apply.JPG
context menu after apply.JPG [ 28.23 KiB | Viewed 3952 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 9:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
This menu is not part of Classic Shell.

This is the Win+X context menu added in Windows 8/Server 2012. It cannot be disabled as there is no Group Policy setting to disable it. You can go to C:\Users\<Your user name>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WinX and rename or delete the folders there called Group 1,2,3 so the shortcuts can no longer be launched by right clicking the Start button.

Note: The menu will still appear, Windows did not provide a way to disable it but its shortcuts won't work.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:41 am
Posts: 26
Hi Gaurav.

Thank you very much for your response. Yes, the menu is not part of classic shell. Is there any way to disable right click win+x context menu from Classic Shell?


Thanks



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 9:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
No at the most you can make sure "Right click opens Win+X menu" option on the Controls tab of Classic Start Menu Settings is UNchecked so the Classic Shell context menu replaces it for regular right click. Since you have already disabled items from the Start button's context menu, the Win+X menu will be hidden behind Shift+right click. Users can still access it by Shift+right click. Microsoft did not provide a Group Policy to completely suppress the Win+X menu.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.