It is currently Wed Jul 08, 2020 6:44 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:29 am
Posts: 1
Hi all



This is a request .for you clever dev's to add an option in settings to move the start button from it's default position to also the middle or right of the taskbar.. this would be especially useful to multi--monitor users or folks like me who hate it on the left.. yeah it's true you can move the task bar from the bottom to the top and right to left of the screen but not the actual start button on the taskbar... Thanks in advance and keep up the great work you are doing..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5353
Even if this were possible, this would introduce too much ambiguity and complexity besides potentially breaking a lot of things. If the button was placed in the middle, where would pinned programs go and where would running programs display their button? If the button was placed on the right, where should the Show Desktop/Aero Peek button go and where would the Date/Time go? It's put on the left for a reason - the rest of the elements can't be moved elsewhere to arbitrary positions as the taskbar is under Microsoft's control.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1990
Though I agree with Gaurav; there is a workaround that could potentially do exactly what you need:
Essentially you can open the start menu, by running the command *InstallDirectory*\ClassicStartMenu.exe -open You can create an 'artificial' startbutton with https://www.rainmeter.net/ that triggers that command
Then lastly, if you want the menu itself to open with that offset, you could edit the skin to accomplish this

Quite a bit of work, but ive actually done something similar on a test rig, and it can be done


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 7:25 am 
Jcee wrote:
Though I agree with Gaurav; there is a workaround that could potentially do exactly what you need:
Essentially you can open the start menu, by running the command *InstallDirectory*\ClassicStartMenu.exe -open You can create an 'artificial' startbutton with https://www.rainmeter.net/ that triggers that command
Then lastly, if you want the menu itself to open with that offset, you could edit the skin to accomplish this

Quite a bit of work, but ive actually done something similar on a test rig, and it can be done



rainmeter is a resource hog. i stopped using it for that reason alone. classic shell is nice because it doesn't use resources.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1990
It can be.. it all depends on how often your resources refresh.. something that refreshes every second, like a cpu meter, is naturally going to hog considerable resources..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:05 am 
Jcee wrote:
It can be.. it all depends on how often your resources refresh.. something that refreshes every second, like a cpu meter, is naturally going to hog considerable resources..



that would explain my situation. cpu, disk, and memory meters were running. but that is what i wanted it for. i had other taskbar meters for windows 7 that used no resources though. so to me rainmeter just isn't very good.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1990
You can adjust the frequency of the update quite easily
Right click a meter (or shift rightclick in some case) go to edit skin, and change this line:
Update=1000
to a larger number, 1000 = 1 second
Something like disk, doesnt need to be updated but once an hour (though most skins for some reason update them every second
Something like a cpu meter is the only one that really needs frequent updates (and even then 2-3 seconds would suffice


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:50 am 
Jcee wrote:
You can adjust the frequency of the update quite easily
Right click a meter (or shift rightclick in some case) go to edit skin, and change this line:
Update=1000
to a larger number, 1000 = 1 second
Something like disk, doesnt need to be updated but once an hour (though most skins for some reason update them every second
Something like a cpu meter is the only one that really needs frequent updates (and even then 2-3 seconds would suffice



thanks for the tip. too late now though, i erased my custom skin awhile ago. it read disk activity and things so it needed to all update fairly regularly (similar to the windows task manager). perhaps changing the setting you mentioned might of helped some. for windows 10 i just use the built in task manager when needed. i liked windows 7 because someone had made some meters that stayed in the taskbar and took next to no resources. so whenever you want without loosing any screen space or resources you could see cpu, memory, and disk activity. if you try to do that in rainmeter it takes 10-20% of your cpu and you have to give up screen space. you can make small meters and lay them over the taskbar but they aren't actually in the taskbar like the old software i had for windows 7.

anyways off topic, sorry. just saying i don't care for rainmeter.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1990
Yea, if you care about cpu cycles, the built in taskmanager actually does the job pretty well, and can sit in your system tray


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.