It is currently Tue Dec 10, 2019 6:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 2:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Italy
Hi, it's been a long time since my last visit here... and I'm glad this forum is still alive. :D
Many problems have kept me away from my normal activity, my computer and forums included, and they're still here.
(I went from an average of 10 hours a day of computer use, every day, to a couple in a week or two, if not in a month!) :(

Now, since my beloved Windows 7 is going to end badly, thanks Microsoft! :twisted:
...I'm trying to find some time to set up Windows 10, until now I've used it for a couple of weeks in two years.
I didn't like it from the beginning and now that I'm trying to customize it as I want, I like it less and less, never "hacked" windows registry so much in any previous version!
I'll have to live with it, the only alternative is Linux, I tried it, wow, but it'll be very difficult to reach the same experience of almost thirty years that I have with Windows.

Good news is that ClassicShell is still working with the last "update" of Windows 10, only my taskbar skin is reduced to a grey rectangle. :twisted:

Ok, let's go back in topic, thanks to this migration from Win 7 to Win 10, I finished my first Start Menu skin, which started almost two years ago... to match my Rainmeter suite.
I have to admit that at the beginning I was a little scared to try to build a skin, since it's very different compared to Rainmeter, but once I understood how to do it, it's a lot simpler.



Keep in mind that it's my first skin, so, don't expect big things, I hope I haven't forgotten anything, I couldn't test it much, let me know if something isn't working as it should.
Only constructive criticism, maybe some :roll: , more appreciations, thanks! :lol:

Installing this skin you have a Classic 1 or 2 columns skin, in three color variants, orange red and blue, all options are in the skin options.

https://cdn1.imggmi.com/uploads/2019/12 ... 5-full.jpg

If anyone is interested in the full se, here there are the links for:
S.H.I.E.L.D. taskbar skin

S.H.I.E.L.D. start button


Attachments:
Shield OS 2.0.skin [1.36 MiB]
Downloaded 57 times


Last edited by fonpaolo on Sun Dec 01, 2019 3:27 pm, edited 17 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1141
Hi fonpaolo
I remember when you were asking if it's possible to add little images on corners and such, so they will not distort or something like that. I also thought you gave up shortly after that.
Very glad you went back to it to get amazing results. It looks like many months of work.

Wow! Fantastic look. Even the selector buttons have extra dodads.
Good to see you got the hang of using all those emblems too.
You have gone to a lot of trouble to make all the different languages.
Very few people have added a user picture like yours in a classic 1/2 column start menu skin.
The glass opacity looks good at 0 and default 50


There are only two things that I notice.
Some users might want to use the jumplist feature that's in classic 1/2, which uses a "Submenu_split_selection" button.
Just need to add it. Now I see in your screenshot you are using the jumplist view, so maybe you designed it like that. :)

The other one is black bits on the bottom of letters of the USER_NAME (see picture).
A few skinners have had this problem before,
where the pixel height amount in the user name box is not enough for the user name letters to fit inside.
Adding glow feature uses up more of those needed pixels (glow is not available on Win8/10).
You know at first glance, I thought the black bits were some type of intended shadow you managed to put in. :)


I wish I knew how to extend the username box in width,
for a lot of skins I made have the problem with black bits at the beginning and end of letters.


Attachments:
User name.png
User name.png [ 4.65 KiB | Viewed 2020 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Italy
Hi juniper7, glad to see you. :D
Thanks for your kind words, I'm glad that my experiment isn't so bad, after all.
I must admit, as I said before, I was very doubtful about being able to do something perhaps passable with Classic Shell, at the beginning.
Then, trying to make it more like my Rainmeter skins, I liked it so much, that I tried to add almost everything that came to mind. :lol:
...I always tend to add as many customizations as possible, because everyone can have something different. ;)

For the glass opacity, I had a lot of problems trying to find a good compromise between Win 7 and Win 10, the latter for me is a disaster...
I tend to believe that Microsoft developers are too young to know what were the basics which made Windows so popular in the past, with each new update they break something and then they add little or nothing of really useful. :twisted:

Going back to your suggestions, I'll take a look at Submenu_split_selection, but in the skins that I... dissected, to understand all the secrets (or at least most of them) I didn't find them.
For the user name, in Windows 10 the problem does not even arise, as you said, given the short life of Windows 7, I doubt I'll find a solution, I disabled the glow effect in Win 7.

Sorry for the derailment, I read that you too had the problem with taskbar skins, but all I tried didn't solve the problem, suggestions?
I know, Open Shell, but reading about the development, seems that there may be more problems trying to solve one...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1141
Hi fonpaolo.
It would be a good idea to add a link to your start button and taskbar skin. :)

Because my regular taskbar is filled with icons, I had to modify your taskbar to fill in the invisible notch to unify it for my system. I don't have any problem with the taskbar on Windows 10 (Win 8.1 is messed up) using Classic shell 4.3.1
As long as I set to Transparent, Taskbar opacity 100.
I will upload a simple mod to your taskbar image in a bit, so you know what I mean.

Of course, if set to Glass, the glass color shows vividly and there is blur.
The more transparent the taskbar image is, the more glass color shows.
There was a Windows 10 update about a year ago that killed the glass color entirely on the Classic Shell start menu.
It still showed the blur. Then a small update fixed it back to normal.
I wish there was some key text word to include in a skin file to enable/disable glass color but leave the blur. :)



I'm on Win10 1909 version now and Classic Shell menu is still working ok,
except of course the 7 style scroll bar can't be skinned, but that went away with the first creator's update eons ago.


I don't believe Microsoft would leave Windows 7 users high and dry.

I still would not switch from Win 7 to Win 10 if you are a beloved Win 7 power user.

I still go back to my XP to play old games. For years after Microsoft said there won't be any updates,
I still got security updates automatically downloaded until about a year ago. I checked about a month ago using the normal update shortcut, but it kept going to old internet explorer and got blocked. I then went to Microsoft Update Catalog site
and found a newer security update dated 2019, and manually downloaded, installed it.

So Microsoft is still going to issue very important security updates even for home users.
A few months ago I noticed my big bank is still using Windows 7 desktop computers, though they will hopefully pay for business security updates as well. Even noticed when a government lottery ticket dispenser had to be rebooted,
it was using an old Windows operating system. Hell, I even noticed a few years back that the photo kiosk in the grocery store is using Windows 2000 os!

I'm still a Classic Shell fan. I switched to Open-Shell briefly but found nothing new for me.
Open-Shell did add some new Italian translations.

Yes, this site is still up, though no new users can get on the forum.
This site is more like an archive now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Italy
Thanks juniper7 for the suggestion, added links in the first post. :D

...and for the taskbar, if in the end, I can't fix it, I'll use yours. ;)

I also use the 1909 version, certainly I won't abandon my windows 7 and sometimes I still use XP for some programs. :lol:

I also think that would be better to post an image, to better understand what's in the download (and if it's worth it).
Since a link to the image is needed I need to upload it somewhere, can you suggest me where I can upload that image?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 2:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1141
Sorry, I don't understand your last comments.
If it's about the modded taskbar, it's just a personal preference, because when there are icons all across the taskbar the empty notch portion looks odd.
I just filled it in a little bit for use when the "Transparent" look is used.
If using "Glass taskbar" look at say opacity 50, Windows draws the notch with blurred glass color.
I should have really added more pixel space for the time/date area before uploading.
Also, there is a known Windows 10 defect where whatever is behind the taskbar does not always update in real-time.
Open-Shell knows about it.


Attachments:
Transparent look taskbar.png
Transparent look taskbar.png [ 7.63 KiB | Viewed 1959 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Italy
Nevermind, I'm still trying to solve my taskbar problem but I'm still on the high seas.
I was thinking of using your taskbar skin instead of mine, just because it has no transparent parts, however, every attempt to solve my problem always ends with a grey rectangle... :(

I think I found a skin that uses "Submenu_split_selection", but to test it, the only problem is that I don't know what to do to activate it in the Classic Start Menu settings, since I've never used it.
I also solved the other problem with user name, giving it a little more space. :)

Sorry for the late reply.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 11:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1141
Hmmm...The taskbar mods I made are still your taskbar, which is still mostly transparent.
I really don't know what the problem is with the taskbar being just a grey rectangle. Screenshot?
Try anything and everything. :)

Windows update problem?
CSM version 4.3.1 ?
Ensure the "Taskbar texture" location is pointing to your taskbar image.
Double-check that Horizontal stretching border sizes are correct, along with the comma in between.
My mods have different numbers.
Does it look the same if changing to an Opaque/transparent/glass taskbar look?
If you go to Windows 10 Personalize/colors/transparency effects, does turning transparency effects on or off make a difference?

That's about all I can help with with the taskbar issue.



I whipped up a split submenu button for you, made from a mixture of your submenu and the main button. I put in the zip.

I don't think there is any room for any customization unless you want to add more padding area. :)
Take your pick which one is better for you, and add to skin file as Bitmap 30
Add this text in the submenu section:

Submenu_split_selection=30
Submenu_split_selection_slices_X=3,13,3,2,6,3
Submenu_split_selection_slices_Y=3,14,3

When it is saved and installed again in the Skin folder it should work.
No activation keys or options required as long as CSM is not a very old version. :)

You may see in other skin files there are all kinds of extra text for the split submenu.
That's only to fine-tune override text/icon padding/text colors that Ivo has put under the hood already. :)


That's good you figured out the user name thing.
It still might be good to have the user glow turn off in your "[NO_GLOW]" section


To fix the dark bits on user name when on Win10
add "User_glow_size=0" to your no glow text like this:

[NO_GLOW]
Main_glow_size=0
Submenu_glow_size=0
Caption_glow_size=0
User_glow_size=0

Then cut all that no glow text section and paste further on down at bottom of file after all the user name sections.
Then it will override all the user glow values from above.

Bye


Attachments:
split submenu selector.png
split submenu selector.png [ 7.4 KiB | Viewed 1454 times ]
Split sub images.zip [707 Bytes]
Downloaded 20 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 12:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Italy
AaAaaRrrGgghHhhHh! :shock:

Now I've found the problem with my taskbar!!!
I had to perform a system restore after 1903 update, so the version was 4.3.0! :twisted:

Ok, problem solved, finally. :D

Now that I see what "Submenu_split_selection" is used for, I'm sure it works properly, almost all the programs I use, don't have that option... only ResourceHacker.

Now I can pack all together and upload the updated version, when I find the time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1141
Excellent

Thankfully 1909 was no problem.

Yes, a bit of a headache for me when upgrading to 1903.
Made a couple of programs not work after the update. I had to go back and forth to retrieve data.
Around that time I installed Open-Shell for a while until a
Windows update fixed the glass color back on Classic Shell.

I had started to skin a little using Open-Shell.
Kept making small then big adjustments to a skin file and could not figure out why the changes did not show.
After more than half an hour, I figured out I had kept putting the skin file in the Classic Shell skins folder,
not Open-Shell's! My brain went on autopilot pasting skin in the old location as it was burnt into my brain cells. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 3:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Italy
Well... given how things are going lately, my brain is always on autopilot... :(

There's only one last question (I hope...) that little pin in the "Submenu_split_selection" is provided by Windows, there's no possibility to replace it with a custom bitmap, am I wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1141
Going from memory, the pin bitmap is auto provided by whatever Windows system has to offer.
It changes size depending on display size 100/125/150 percent.

Skin can be overwritten to use your own bitmaps, (example "Pin_bitmap=123") and include bitmap in the skin file.
If one makes a skin to be used at 150%/144 dpi display size, then include a bigger pin bitmap along with this header title:

[HIGH_DPI]
Pin_bitmap=127

Anything under that HIGH_DPI heading turns on automatically at 144 dpi whatever bitmaps/settings you put in.


For me, I always like the windows 7 blue and silver pin bitmaps, but may not match your skin. The flat grey type looks better.
Some people have made their own design pin bitmaps, one was even the letter P.
I included pin bitmap templates to change to something different.
They are png type. If you don't know how to put png images in skin file, let me know, or just convert back to 32bit alpha bitmaps.
The skinning tutorial mentions about pin bitmaps.


Attachments:
150size.png
150size.png [ 1.16 KiB | Viewed 1292 times ]
125 size.png
125 size.png [ 1.09 KiB | Viewed 1292 times ]
100size.png
100size.png [ 913 Bytes | Viewed 1292 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1141
Here are a couple of pin icons from maybe win8 system in the zip.
Once extracted from Zip, open with your Pixelformer program to get the correct image size.


Attachments:
Pin Icon_234.zip [11.42 KiB]
Downloaded 19 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Italy
Thanks juniper7 for the informations. :D

Reading the documentation, there are some areas far from complete and exhaustive, I hope to not offend his creator...
For example, the "Pin_bitmap" should be available only for Windows 7 style main menu... :?

Another problem, the arrows, if I use those offered by Windows, I can use an "arrow_color", but if I use a custom one, the color doesn't change... :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1141
A note about the win7 type pin bitmaps above. I actually increased the size a little so they weren't as fuzzy looking. I think 100% size has 20 pixels instead of 16 pixels.

Yes fonpaolo, there are a number of bits of information left out of the tutorial. It got updated a number of times.
Possibly when the first versions of CSM came out, jumplists/pin were not even available.

I am still grateful for Ivo adding lots of info about using color masks, emblems, patterns, and tints.
Tints were way over my head, and Ivo explained it simply on one of the forum pages of someone's personal skin.
So there is more info spread across the forum if you have a month to read it all. :)
Ivo has put lots of extra info in his default skin files.

Emblems/patterns have helped me greatly on many skins, even the adni18 skin, where I used a trick of using an emblem & mask to seamlessly show the white angled line on the top bar so it does not stretch /distort horizontally on jumplist view.
As I don't have a skinning license, :) I don't know a lot of things that Ivo knows from programming in Windows and games.
I'm sure there are a number of things we all don't know, but Ivo does about his skinning engine.

I tend to find out new things when I make mistakes or renaming .skin7 to .skin. Some items carry over to classic, and some don't.

"Search_arrow" (bitmap) can work in classic styles good for 125% size but does not have all the functions.

"Search_padding" works on a classic, but not "Search_background_padding" because of no external "Search_background" bitmap in classic.

I bet there is a text setting for the search box "WindowFrame", but I never figured it out.



Ok back to your issue.
About the arrows. Ivo only has arrow bitmaps in his program for 100% and 150% size.
I could be totally wrong here but this is the way I think(logically illogical)it works:

The below text will force the internal bitmap mask in CSM to use the hex RGB colors

Main_arrow_color=#000000,#FFFFFF


If you replace with a real bitmap in the skin file the new bitmap overrides (notice the "color" part is removed which stumped me a few times :) )

Main_arrow=216



but if Main_arrow_color is put after/below a real bitmap, the real Main_arrow bitmap still is the override King

Main_arrow=216

Main_arrow_color=#000000,#FFFFFF



You would need to initialize or set back to default condition by making it 0 or none. Then the hex arrow color will work. The King has been dethroned.

Main_arrow=216

Main_arrow=0

Main_arrow_color=#000000,#FFFFFF

Also if you use a custom shaped arrow bitmap, you can make a color mask bitmap for the arrow to make it change to a different color/colors with tint colors or glass color.
Can even skip the arrow bitmap and use just the arrow mask to get up to 4 different colors on the arrow.

Edit: More discombobulation
Looking at Ivo's Metro skin, one can see he uses the alpha part of bitmaps to an advantage.
The visible part of the bitmap gets saturated with red mask color which is normally system glass color,
but he assigns that red mask to use a tint color, but instead of a hex color, it uses a specific Windows system color instead.

Search_bitmap=9
Search_bitmap_tint1=$StartPrimaryText
Search_bitmap_mask=#FF0000

Pin_bitmap=11
Pin_bitmap_tint1=$StartSecondaryText
Pin_bitmap_mask=#FF0000

Virtually anything can have a mask to control where either a color area is blocked or shows through.
Personally, I find masks are good when using multiple menu variations by just using one bitmap mask along with
multiple text variations, instead of using multiple bitmaps to do the same end results.

For a simple menu, it may not be worth using masks everywhere, for using them can make one's head spin, alcohol not required. :lol:


Attachments:
Adding mask to arrow bitmap.png
Adding mask to arrow bitmap.png [ 22.64 KiB | Viewed 447 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.