It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:07 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:30 pm
Posts: 18
Can someone create a start menu skin similar to the one shown in the attachment (except with Windows 7 style arrows)?


Attachments:
Aero CP.png [167.63 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:30 pm
Posts: 18
Also, can you make it so that there is an option for transparency? Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 930
Do you mean just to have square corners on menu, selectors, and user image frame? All you need to do is edit, and replace the bitmaps of an already made skin.
Example Windows Aero.skin7

Use free Pixelformer image editor. It should be easy. Use color picker, and pencil tool,
to copy and paste a color, to fill in the corner areas.

If you can't figure it out, I'll convert one for you later tonight.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 930
Here. :)
Only made square corners. I did not flatten out the selector buttons.
I never tested on other systems, besides Win 10.
The skinned scroll bar is not going to work with Creators Update (Win 10).

I didn't put in a switchable opaque/transparency option,
because just having option text,:

OPTION NOT_TRANS="Opaque",0

[NOT_TRANS]
Main_opacity=region
Main2_opacity=region

will make menu a lot darker, even black. It would take a total redesign of bitmaps, and color masks to look brighter.
Depending on which operating system, you have CSM set up on,
it might show a setting "Glass opacity". Set it to 100 for a bright opaque look,
or 25 for more transparency.


Attachments:
WIN7 Square Corners.skin7 [247 KiB]
Downloaded 79 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:30 pm
Posts: 18
juniper7 wrote:
Here. :)
Only made square corners. I did not flatten out the selector buttons.
I never tested on other systems, besides Win 10.
The skinned scroll bar is not going to work with Creators Update (Win 10).

I didn't put in a switchable opaque/transparency option,
because just having option text,:

OPTION NOT_TRANS="Opaque",0

[NOT_TRANS]
Main_opacity=region
Main2_opacity=region

will make menu a lot darker, even black. It would take a total redesign of bitmaps, and color masks to look brighter.
Depending on which operating system, you have CSM set up on,
it might show a setting "Glass opacity". Set it to 100 for a bright opaque look,
or 25 for more transparency.


Thanks! This is perfect!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:30 pm
Posts: 18
Actually, there seems to be a slight problem when clicking something on the right pane. :( Basically, there's a weird border that's not in your WIN7LIKE skin. I've attached a screenshot of the problem here. Could you fix this if you have time?


Attachments:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG [ 4.99 KiB | Viewed 701 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 4:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 930
I have no idea about the blue border behind.
I don't see it, clicking on all option combinations.
I tried on CSM v4.3.0 and 4.3.1.

A settings conflict somewhere, or just something on desktop showing through, but there is no blur?
Another start menu showing at same time?
Sorry can't help. :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:30 pm
Posts: 18
Actually, I wasn't talking about that. That's just what happens (the button fades away after you've clicked on it). It seems that what I was talking about (the border around the Control Panel button) actually happens in all/most skins. I take back what I said about this not being in your WIN7LIKE skin. This doesn't really matter, so you don't have to do anything.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 930
Oh, OK. Yeah that lingering clicked button makes for some strange effects sometimes.

Selector buttons come in all types. Flat , gradient, one line borders to many line borders, and combinations of them all. The borders seem be made, so selector button is visible with light and dark menus.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 6:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:30 pm
Posts: 18
Do you know if there's a way to get rid of the lingering clicked button?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 930
I can only change the color, texture, or some shapes.
Skinning can't change the function of the program.

Need to ask Ivo if it's possible, or if there is some registry tweak.

Maybe it's the persistence of my eyes, but if I click on a dark grey Win 10 Win-X menu entry, it lingers a little too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 646
Isn't there already a setting to turn the lingering button off, though...?

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 930
I have not looked around lately at all the settings. So many!
Using CSM search box, entered :
selector, vanish, off, button, leave, go away, kaput, delay.
I finally tried "fade"
I put delay to 0
Kills the menu, and the "lingering" like a time shift.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:30 pm
Posts: 18
juniper7 wrote:
I have not looked around lately at all the settings. So many!
Using CSM search box, entered :
selector, vanish, off, button, leave, go away, kaput, delay.
I finally tried "fade"
I put delay to 0
Kills the menu, and the "lingering" like a time shift.


Thanks so much! (if anyone wants to know, it's "Fade speed" in the "Menu Look" tab)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.