It is currently Thu Jul 27, 2017 11:56 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 11:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
It is, what it is.
That's as far as I can take it.

Win 10 Concept [Classic 2 only] Use with CSM version 4.3.0

Skin can work at regular 100% (96 dpi) size, or 150% (144 dpi) HiDPI size.

:!: HAVE TO LOAD XML FILE FOR IT TO WORK PROPERLY :!:
The xml file turns second column to buttons feature.
It will look pretty ugly, until the xml file is loaded.
Unzip file, put skin in the skin folder of Classic Shell ( C:\Program Files\Classic Shell\Skins )
Right click on Start button to get settings window. Click on back up button at bottom. Click load from XML file.
Open "Win 10 Concept.xml" at your unzip location. If menu does not change, you might have to exit CSM, and restart it.


This skin is a concept for a simpler alternate Windows 10 start menu. Not for Win 7 Operating system, as it has Metro colors.
Can work on Win 8, results will vary.

It does work somewhat, as the fake tiles are linked shortcuts, just locked up positions.
The tile text is from screenshots.
Can't move tiles around, can't resize them, can't remove/add, and can't be live animated.
So many restrictions. :lol:

Edit: Another restriction. Second column can only be English language. Sorry.
The text emblem would have to be redone for another language. Not impossible, just would take some time.

The xml file is set to small icons at 16 size on 100% system size.
You can set to 24 size if you wish, to match better. Use CSM settings "Menu Look" tab.
On HiDPI small icons defaults to 24 size. Changing to 32 size might look better, as well.
Please don't change the large icon size in CSM settings,
for the right tile alignment will seriously go out of whack.
The alignments all will go every which way.


The second column has two types of tiles.
One of them, kind of resembles the Win10 tiles.
Both these types have smaller squares than real Win 10. Yes, they both look like calculator menus. :)
I reduced tile size to 80% of original size, because when tiles all same color,
they are too over powering, especially lime green color.
Second type is smaller tile, at 40% of original.
Last type has no tiles at all, with selector resembling on the desktop.


As above, tiles are burnt into the skin, which means the tiles and text are frozen in place.
The good thing is the links do work, when set up correctly.
If any of the links don't work on a different computer,
try making a shortcut and store somewhere. Link to that shortcut.
If it does not work, I'm sure Gaurav knows all the direct links, and can supply them.


Edit: Minor addition. Added extra color shade option. Now revision B
I realized afterwards why the normal color shade option is washed out, when transparency is on.
Original MS Win 10 changes the menu background from SystemAccentDark1 when opaque, to SystemAccentDark2 if transparency.
Was going to make it switch automatically, then decided to put as another color shade option.
Your choice, you pick.







Background notes.

At first, I was experimenting with the icon frame skin feature, pushing it out more. Was thinking this is great.
Then, when I made the text as an emblem, the text disappeared, because the text is behind the icon frame. :(
Emblems are like layers in photo editors. The top most layer is the most visible. I tried emblem 10 instead of emblem 1, no change.
I surmise bottom layer is menu skin, then emblems 1 thru 10, then icon frames, then icon, then selector, then text at top.
Back to the drawing board, to try different approach.

The only way to look like Metro, was I made a screen shot of what was made so far,
and used that as the bitmap, with the tiles on the bitmap.
Big honking bitmaps, that had to be exact, which was a pain.
Surprising though, due to fact that there is no texture in bitmaps,
when they got converted to png format, menu file size is small.

Because the tile text screenshot had to resemble font smoothing,
I had to do a trick to it, so it looks same on dark and light tiles.
First I set a different glass skin to grey color, in front of grey background. Took a screenshot.
Erased the surrounding menu, that left just the white text, with it's darker Clear Type pixels.
I adjusted the gamma of text lower, and used as the alpha layer. I made the gamma higher, and put in the rgb layer.
This roughly imitates the look, without having too white or too dark edges around text.


Attachments:
Win 10 Concept revB skin & xml.zip [296.88 KiB]
Downloaded 726 times
Win 10 Concept.png
Win 10 Concept.png [ 90.41 KiB | Viewed 4082 times ]
Small & no tiles.png
Small & no tiles.png [ 89.14 KiB | Viewed 4082 times ]


Last edited by juniper7 on Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 4:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:11 am
Posts: 32
hello juniper7,
je commençais tout juste à m'habituer à votre thème Experiment: CLASETRO [7style]
!!!! :evil:
et voilà que vous avez travaillé sur un thème tout à fait différent, beau travail d'ailleurs :)

bravo en tout cas !
:lol:




translation :


Hello juniper7, I just began to become used to your theme
Experiment: CLASETRO [7style !!!!
and now you worked on a completely different theme, a beautiful work moreover !
bravo in any case !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 6:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
I'm sorry to tell you Pipalou50,
the text language on second column can not be in French.
Is only English.

French.
Je suis désolé de vous dire Pipalou50,
Le texte sur la deuxième colonne ne peut pas être en français.
Est seulement anglais.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 10:25 am
Posts: 25
Location: Somewhere in the US.
Man, I didn't know you could do tiles! :D
By the way, is there some way to recreate the Windows 8/8.1 Start Screen inside of Classic Shell? I'm just curious.
It would be a little bit hard to do, since you would have to find a way to make the skin larger than it should be.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 7:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
Just like concept cars, skin is only partially functional.
Was made for kicks. :)

Making skins larger is easy with visible, or invisible image and/or increased paddings.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:52 am
Posts: 43
wow Juniper , it's just an amazing skin !
Would you mind if I share it on my youtube channel ?
Gratz my friend ^^


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
As long as you are aware of its limitations,
do whatever you want. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:52 am
Posts: 43
Thanks :)

see ya and keep nice inspiration :p


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:52 am
Posts: 43
Hi Juniper

I have a question , where can I edit the labels as on screen ?

Thanks for help



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
Here are two pictures.
One is "IMAGE" 204 used for small/no tiles normal size menu.
Other picture shows how to add or replace .png in older Reshacker.




The main emblem .png images are qty 4, with qty 12 small single names emblems, for switching out name options:

Text is offset to left for large 80% tile variation 100% menu size:

Main_emblem10=209


Text is offset to left for large 80% tile variation HiDPI 150% menu size:

Main_emblem10=256




Text is centered for small tile/no tile variation 100% menu size:

Main_emblem10=204


Text is centered for small tile/no tile variation HiDPI 150% menu size:

Main_emblem10=257




Single name options text is used for all variations 100% menu size
with all different location placement numbers:

Main_emblem9=227 Downloads

Main_emblem9=228 Games

Main_emblem9=229 Internet

Main_emblem8=230 Defaults

Main_emblem8=231 Uninstall

Main_emblem8=232 Disk Cleanup




Single name options text is used for all variations HiDPI 150% menu size
with all different location placement numbers:

Main_emblem9=260 Downloads

Main_emblem9=261 Games

Main_emblem9=262 Internet

Main_emblem8=263 Defaults

Main_emblem8=264 Uninstall

Main_emblem8=265 Disk Cleanup




The text is from modified screenshots. It has alpha channel added for adaption to dark/light backgrounds.

I had trouble learning how to use newer versions of Reshacker when adding or replaceing IMAGE .png files. So I use older version.
All the emblems above are .png located in "IMAGE" folders in Reshacker.

Old Resource hacker:

download/file.php?id=2723




If there are a lot of people who wanted everything in say French, or other language, I will do it for them.

I'll let you tinker.
If you get stuck, I will help. ;)


Attachments:
204.png
204.png [ 3.45 KiB | Viewed 3853 times ]
Make sure to add  IMAGE to box.PNG
Make sure to add IMAGE to box.PNG [ 6.75 KiB | Viewed 3853 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:52 am
Posts: 43
Thanks for help my friend !

have a nice week end


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 12:04 pm
Posts: 170
Location: Coolidge, AZ USA
This is actually really cool. Well done Juniper7. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Italy
Yes, very impressive, indeed.

It's tempting me to start my computer with Windows 10 partition*, only to try it.

*Since I hate Windows 10, you can understand what it means... ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:03 pm
Posts: 88
Hi, I like what you've done with the start menu. I like the 80% tile feature, and the no tiles feature. Both look good.
I think I like the text centered in the middle better though. I like the separator beside system as well.

Its too bad that the emblems dissapear beneath the icon frame. It looks like you got that fixed so that the text is visible.

Great work! =)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 5:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
Thanx redblade8

Had to give up with using icon frames for second column.
Only used on first column.

I purposely made the selector one pixel bigger on edge to animate it a bit.

The no tiles selector was all trickery. If its transparency was on full, the text would be obscured.

Time for me to hand over the baton to you, for taking it in a different direction. Dark tiles on light background menu?
Take whatever you want and make a better one.


I'm too busy with other things now.
Like today. I'm up a tree, using a Sawzall to cut off what's left of a large snapped limb from too much snow.
The sawing was the fun part.
Getting my steel toed boot stuck between branches for a couple of minutes, not so much. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 616
juniper7 wrote:
Thanx redblade8

Had to give up with using icon frames for second column.
Only used on first column.

I purposely made the selector one pixel bigger on edge to animate it a bit.

The no tiles selector was all trickery. If its transparency was on full, the text would be obscured.

Time for me to hand over the baton to you, for taking it in a different direction. Dark tiles on light background menu?
Take whatever you want and make a better one.


I'm too busy with other things now.
Like today. I'm up a tree, using a Sawzall to cut off what's left of a large snapped limb from too much snow.
The sawing was the fun part.
Getting my steel toed boot stuck between branches for a couple of minutes, not so much. :lol:

:/




Also uh, I guess I'll just leave this mockup I made a while ago here, for if you guys are interested:

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
That's a good idea too, Splitwirez.
Homogenize it, so the tiles don't stand out anymore.
Adjust tile alpha transparency 128 to 200.

Hmm..2014.
I've seen something like this before, when I googled Win 10 concepts.
Maybe it was yours?. I saw redblade8 screenshot for sure.


Attachments:
transtiles.png
transtiles.png [ 63.23 KiB | Viewed 3544 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 2:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 616
juniper7 wrote:
That's a good idea too, Splitwirez.
Homogenize it, so the tiles don't stand out anymore.
Adjust tile alpha transparency 128 to 200.

Actually, I did it by making the background a translucent colour and making the tiles translucent white...works better with darker or duller colours.


juniper7 wrote:
Hmm..2014.
I've seen something like this before, when I googled Win 10 concepts.

Oh? I've always wondered where I got the idea for that tile style, as I don't recall having seen it anywhere before, yet a friend of mine described it as being reminiscent of Windows 10 Mobile...which I had never seen in my life at the time of making the concept .-. (and after looking up some screenshots, I don't see the resemblance .-.-. )


juniper7 wrote:
Maybe it was yours?.

Definitely not, I hadn't made a Windows concept in my life by the end of 2014, bar a few paper-and-pencil drawings from 2012 - 2013 which were terrifyingly reminiscent of the final Windows 10 Start Menu, but none of those made it onto the internet.


juniper7 wrote:
I saw redblade8 screenshot for sure.

Which one?

juniper7 wrote:

OH OOOOOH MOM GET THE CAMERA

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
I don't remember the exact words I used for search back then.
Results always going to change.
Could not find the one I remember seeing a couple weeks ago, that looked like yours.
One of the ones I see now looks like they took image from mobile, and put on desktop.

Looks like I unknowingly copied part of Stardock.


Attachments:
Screenshot  combined(270).jpg
Screenshot combined(270).jpg [ 157.51 KiB | Viewed 3522 times ]
Screenshot (271).jpg
Screenshot (271).jpg [ 84.47 KiB | Viewed 3522 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:03 pm
Posts: 88
No problem. Oh. So you didn't use icon frames on the second column? I'll download and check out your skin later today.
I saw the emblem text picture. I was wondering how you got the text centered and to the left.

I don't think that I can make a better start menu than you can. Yours is pretty good.
I was thinking that if I did make one though, I could add the windows 98 start menu too.

That sounds dangerous to do. It's good that you got your foot out of there though.

Splitwirez, I like your mockup start menu. It looks nice.


edit: That stardock menu looks weird.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
redblade8
If you do happen to look inside the skin file,
you might be surprised how many main menu bitmap images got used, for such a plain looking menu.
The no tile variation uses total of 4. I could have got it down to just 2,
by having program draw the solid opaque bitmap for me.

The squares variations a total of 32. :o
It had to be so large qty, for the different size square, opaque, transparent, glass, metro, high dpi, no user picture, with user picture.

Try out the HiDPI feature, even if your monitor is a just a standard 1920x1080 96dpi size.
Leave Windows system size at 100% size.
Go into CSM settings, "Menu Look" tab.
Change "Override system DPI" setting to 144.
Click OK, exit CSM, restart it, so bigger icons get applied.
This will now make the tile squares 1.5 times bigger, for in your face start menu. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 2:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
redblade8
One more thing, you might want to experiment with-icon frame.

Do you notice the icon frame on the left side disappears when selector button is at same location?
I could have made a modified selector button, to make it look like same frame, as in past, but has to be exact to fit icon size,
so I gave up.
Now I find Ivo was very smart with one of his skins. Instead of just a square bitmap used for the icon frame,
he put another bitmap to the right, and combined it into one.
Along with some sort of coding in his program (I don't see or would understand coding if I saw it), the icon frame will show with, or without the selector button.
Freaken Amazing. :) I only just found out about this, and is not in the skin I made.
Did not try it out fully, but this could also mean the color of the icon frame could be changed too, as it has two states!


Attachments:
Screenshot (273).png
Screenshot (273).png [ 18.42 KiB | Viewed 3440 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:03 pm
Posts: 88
Hi, O.o its almost 80 images in the image folder in res hacker. I tried 125 % high DPI, and it didn't load right. I tried 144% high DPI, and it worked. The only thing is that its missing help, run and windows defender. There are no icons for it. I have a 1366 x 768px screen.

Color chaos seems to be the default option when you first load the skin.


I'm not sure what to do to experiment with icon frames. Yes, I did notice the icon frame disappearing. I didn't know that icon frames can have two states . Putting the bitmap to the right, I'm not sure how that works, it sounds interesting though.

I tried to make mail on your start menu have a text label to show. It didn't work. I also put a shut down button on the right side of the start menu.

-Red.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 881
I did not make an option for 125%. Getting very lazy .
Only 100%, or 150%. It would take another large set of bitmap images to do 125%,
and it is not going to auto switch on, like Ivo made for 150%.

The height of menu at 150% is 744 pixels plus possible 40 pixel taskbar= 784
If your screen height is 768 pixels, then parts of menu will be chopped off.
It happens with all skins if too many entries on menu.

Color chaos was set on purpose that way. I had another version where the selector color inside the tile changed a different color.
Really was chaotic. The one I left in is quite tame.


Don't know why mail text label won't show.
I never made a split selector for right column. Program will borrow and use part of the tile selector, but it's huge.

About the icon frames. New to me too.
I think Ivo has something like this for the search arrow too, where instead of an arrow with states above each other,
It's to the right.
Never figured it out yet though.

Here is another option that got removed.
It was an emblem which only showed, if lots of entries in left column.
It filled the empty space below the tiles.
If I had a lot of time, I could have shrunk the pictures more to fit properly.
They are not user replaceable, so I chopped them out.

You may not hear from me for the next few weeks. Bye.


Attachments:
foto emblem.jpg
foto emblem.jpg [ 57.72 KiB | Viewed 3407 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 11:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:03 pm
Posts: 88
Oh, ok. I only put 125% because I thought that that's what you had wrote here. 144% works though.

Yeah, its weird that the mail label won't show.

I didn't know about the search arrow too.

I do like those emblems that filled the empty space.

I'll see ya for now =)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.