It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 941
Hello.
Just a skinning question lingering in back of my mind.

About [ALL_PROGRAMS] option in Classic skins.
Bit confused where tutorial talks about it in Win7, but the option is in the Classic skin files?

Does that mean there can be a different type of "all programs" button, text color,
even different type of submenu under that option on a Classic skin?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
No, that's an option that is set when the skin's submenu is used as the All Programs replacement in the native start menu in Windows 7.
If you don't have Windows 7 then you will never see it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 941
But why does there have to be the text in Classic skins?
Is it for some compatibility, from past versions?

AllPrograms_options=WHITE_SUBMENUS, LARGE_FONT


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
If you are running on Windows 7, there will be an extra page in the settings to choose the skin options for the All Programs sub-menu. The "AllPrograms_options" determines what options will be visible in that page. Since only the sub-menu portion of the skin will be used, any options that only control the main menu should not be in the list.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 941
Ok. I will have to reboot into Win7 operating system to see.

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 941
OK. Using someone else's Win7 OS.

Fascinating. Never knew about that option to have a CSM submenu skin to work in tandem with original Windows 7 menu.
Only hopped, stepped, and jumped off Win7, before landing on Win 8/.1/10

I've made a mistake in some of the skins I made.
I added, or took away options on the all programs text location, because I didn't think it did anything.
Hope if nothing there, it goes to default.

Hilarious. Regular main menu with John Edwards Clearsharp submenu with text glow,
or XP Classic Retro 3d border submenu. What a mix.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.