It is currently Fri May 26, 2017 7:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 8:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 801
Hello.
I have taken a look at the Metallic skin text with ResourceHacker.
Lots of good info in there, on how to use the new features.

I have a question.
Can the regular menu bitmaps be .png as well?
I put as IMAGE as .png, but what text do I put in place of example:Main_bitmap=1



Main_bitmap|png=54

Main_png=54

Main=54

Am I getting close? :|


Last edited by juniper7 on Sat Oct 08, 2016 1:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 9:19 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5155
Just Main_bitmap=54
If the number is not a valid bitmap ID, then the start menu will look in the IMAGE section for that number.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 8:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 801
Thanks Ivo.
Got it working. It is very good with pattern tiling. No stretching distortion.
I just have to figure out how to give it a gradient on the edges.
I guess the mask and the bitmap will need modding to get to jive together.
Going to spend time with it on the weekend.

Again thanks.

I hope more skinners will find out what you have done in this new release.
Looks like a lot of potential for the real artists/skinners to make great stuff in future.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 801
Hello.
Another question about texture patterns in beta 4.2.7
By any chance, can a pattern be applied to a submenu as well?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 10:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5155
No, submenus don't have patterns. They are using a more light-weight composition to keep them more responsive and dynamic.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 6:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 591
Ivo wrote:
No, submenus don't have patterns. They are using a more light-weight composition to keep them more responsive and dynamic.


Really? Why are they still so much laggier? Or...is that just an issue on my end? ._.

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 9:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5155
Well, part of the time is taken by collecting the items to show, and possibly loading their icons. If you add the drawing of the complex background, it will be even laggier :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 11:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5000
Submenus laggier? Get an SSD. :P

_________________
Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 12:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 591
Gaurav wrote:
Submenus laggier? Get an SSD. :P


How do you SSD a laptop? :lol:

Uh...wow, this is really offtopic ._.

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1758
SSDs can replace your primary hard disk; or even your dvd drive: http://www.ebay.com/itm/2nd-HDD-Caddy-9-5mm-SATA-to-SATA-Hard-Drive-Adapter-For-Laptop-Universal-CD-DVD-/252220286611?hash=item3ab9802693:g:IzkAAOSwUdlWdzEx

Also Im all for features, even if they cause 'some lag' because the user can always disable them (and if they lag on old hardware just disable them by default, and give a warning in the features tooltip that it causes a performance hit)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 801
Hello. I have another request for more info.

I'm playing with a tiny emblem on a .skin7 Win7 style.

Main_emblem1=29
Main_emblem1_padding=12,12,12,11
Main_emblem1_alignH=center2
Main_emblem1_alignV=bottom

It works fine with Main_bitmap and Main_bitmap_jump.
But with Main_bitmap_search, the emblem just sits in the bottom right corner 1/2 cut off.
The height matches. The horizontal alignment does not work. I understand search results menu does not have center2, as it's one column.

What extra text can I put in to differentiate it?

Thought this extra text would work. Nope.

Main_search_emblem1=29
Main_search_emblem1_padding=12,12,50,11
Main_search_emblem1_alignH=right
Main_search_emblem1_alignV=bottom




Center works ok for all main, jump, and search menus. Using right for all works too.
I may end up just using the right for all.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5155
What do you want to happen in that case though? Do you want "center2" to behave like "right" if there is no second column?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 801
Good question. :lol:
I think my mind figured it would be invisible or same place like 1/4 of center.
Invisible would be better. I will use the right align though. That way search and normal are same. Jump list view move to right. It's a good feature when one does not want in this case, the fake power button trim to be stretched.


One more thing.
Is the text logic stricter?
It's difficult to have radio buttons greyed out.
I did not want the user picture to show up with a menu that does not have the top border space for it.
I arranged text further on down, to not let it happen. I just can't get the options to be greyed out.
I must be omitting something.

; OPTIONS
OPTION TOP="Add top border",1
OPTION RADIOGROUP="User Picture",0,NO_USER_PIC|USER_PIC|USER_OFFSET|USER_INSIDE
OPTION NO_USER_PIC="None",1
OPTION USER_PIC="On top",0, TOP,0
OPTION USER_OFFSET="Offset frame on top. Use with default English setup",0, TOP,0
OPTION USER_INSIDE="Inside menu",0


Attachments:
emblem in middle of column 2.png
emblem in middle of column 2.png [ 10.73 KiB | Viewed 3346 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 7:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:03 pm
Posts: 11
Is this release ever going to come out of Beta?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 8:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5155
Yes, it will be around the same time Windows 10 Redstone 1 comes out of Beta.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 9:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:03 pm
Posts: 11
Ivo wrote:
Yes, it will be around the same time Windows 10 Redstone 1 comes out of Beta.


Windows 10 will continue to have Beta builds. The RS1 should go final for the GP on 8.2.2016.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 1:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 801
Hello.
I'm looking at more of the new skinning features in version 4.3.0

My brain is finding it difficult to comprehend. Require more vitamins, or high voltage zap to get neurons firing. :lol:

One:
(New internal skin option "SEARCHBOX",
which is true when the search box is visible to allow skins to use different settings based on that.)

What does this mean in layman's language?

Two:
(New internal skin settings, Main_icon_size and Main2_icon_size. You can set them to "none", "small" and "large" independently)

I could not get it to work properly, unless I added "Main_large_icons=0"
It's a very nice feature. :D

Is this the proper way to do it?
Here is what I put in script:


OPTION RADIOGROUP="Icon size 1st column",0,NOICONS|SMALLICONS|LARGEICONS|
OPTION NOICONS="None",1
OPTION SMALLICONS="Small",0
OPTION LARGEICONS="Large",0

OPTION RADIOGROUP="Icon size 2nd column",0,NOICONS2|SMALLICONS2|LARGEICONS2|
OPTION NOICONS2="None",1
OPTION SMALLICONS2="Small",0
OPTION LARGEICONS2="Large",0



Classic1_options=variations,NOICONS,SMALLICONS,LARGEICONS
Classic2_options=variations,,NOICONS,SMALLICONS,LARGEICONS,NOICONS2,SMALLICONS2,LARGEICONS2




[NOICONS]
Main_icon_size=none
Main_large_icons=0

[SMALLICONS]
Main_icon_size=small
Main_large_icons=0

[LARGEICONS]
Main_icon_size=large
Main_large_icons=0

[NOICONS2]
Main2_icon_size=none
Main_large_icons=0

[SMALLICONS2]
Main2_icon_size=small
Main_large_icons=0

[LARGEICONS2]
Main2_icon_size=large
Main_large_icons=0


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 10:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 801
juniper7 wrote:
Hello.
I'm looking at more of the new skinning features in version 4.3.0


(New internal skin option "SEARCHBOX",
which is true when the search box is visible to allow skins to use different settings based on that.)

What does this mean in layman's language?


Ok, I think I figured out the "SEARCHBOX" if true, inskin feature.

So, if say a skin has a large bottom border that normally has search box sitting on top, all is well.
But if user turns off the search box, in CSM settings, the above entries fill in space,
usually not well aligned. :(



If I use below text, it will push up bottom padding above border, only if user turns off search box.

[NOT SEARCHBOX AND LEFT_EXTEND_PADDING]
Main_padding=8,106,8,68


Or can be used like below, and add settings only if user has search box turned on.

[SEARCHBOX]
Main_emblem1=53

Also SEARCHBOX does not need to be set up as an option. It's already there. ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.