Classic Shell
http://www.classicshell.net/forum/

Skin with glyph icons in column 2 to match Win10 taskbar?
http://www.classicshell.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=5220
Page 1 of 1

Author:  davestewart [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:45 am ]
Post subject:  Skin with glyph icons in column 2 to match Win10 taskbar?

I note from the docs that it is possible to set some icons, such as All Programs.

Is it possible to set any of the other icons which the user can make available, such as This PC, Documents, Control Panel etc?

Thanks,
Dave

Author:  Gaurav [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Icons can be customized in any Start Menu style from the Settings UI. Go to the Customize Start Menu tab in Start Menu Settings and double click the icon to bring up the Edit Menu Item dialog. However, for the right-side column, only the "Classic with two columns" style will show icons (when "No icons in the second column" is unchecked from the Skin tab). For the Windows 7 style, the right-side column icons will show at the top where the user picture is.

Author:  davestewart [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 6:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Thanks, Gaurav, that's great!

Looks like icon customisations are also saved to the settings backup, which is great.

My plan is to replace all the stock item icons with Windows 10 equivalents. I can do this myself as you've suggested, but do you know if it's at all possible to change the defaults, so each time I add a new item to the menu, its icon is pre-set?

Author:  Gaurav [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 6:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

No the default icons are obtained from the item itself. What do you mean by Windows 10 equivalent icons and where did you get them? Are the glyphs used in the left side of the Windows 10 Start Menu stored in some DLL?

Author:  davestewart [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Not that I know of.

Instead, I'm compiling a dll with icons from Icons8: https://icons8.com/web-app/category/win10/Very-Basic

Author:  Gaurav [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

If you could share them here after you convert them in ICO format, it will be appreciated. :)

Author:  davestewart [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Of course!

Author:  davestewart [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 11:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Here's how the icons look in-situ.

Not as sharp as the core Windows 10 icons, but certainly look more in-keeping with the OS.

Attachments:
windows-10-start-menu.png
windows-10-start-menu.png [ 402.21 KiB | Viewed 13338 times ]

Author:  davestewart [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 2:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

I did my own icons in the end, only took a couple of hours

I think these look much better.

Attachments:
windows-10-start-menu-02.png
windows-10-start-menu-02.png [ 397.75 KiB | Viewed 13324 times ]

Author:  Gaurav [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Fantastic job. Your own icons are much better. Can we download them? :)

Author:  davestewart [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Thanks :)

I'm just finishing off a few things, then I'll stick the whole lot on GitHub.

You don't happen to know if there's a variable (for use in Customize Start Menu bitmap paths) to directly reference the Classic Shell folder do you?

I have CS installed in "Program Files/Utilities/Classic Shell" so it would more user-friendly to be able to distribute a settings.xml file with something like "%PROGRAM_FOLDER%/Windows 10 Icons/someicon.ico" rather than my path, and some notes in the readme for people to edit this before installing.

Actually, thinking about it some more, a good option might be:

Code:
%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\ClassicShell\Windows 10 Icons\*

Author:  Gaurav [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Yep some folder inside %localappdata%\ClassicShell is a good idea since %ProgramFiles% is UAC protected.

Author:  davestewart [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

OK, everything is uploaded to Github.

https://github.com/davestewart/classic-shell-win10

If you'd like to check it out and give me any feedback, that would be great.

What's the best way to announce a new skin? Is there a thread for this kind of thing, or do I just make a new one?

Author:  Gaurav [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

You could edit the first post of this thread if you want, change the title or create a new thread. If possible add some screenshots with a generic user picture so I can post about it on the Facebook page.

Edit: Downloaded. Nice icons. We still need glyph icons for Music, Videos, Downloads, Apps, Games, Monitor off, Default Programs, Recycle Bin, Programs and Features, WiFi, Recent/Frequent folders, if anyone else wants to pitch in. And high res/high DPI icons (64x64 or higher) for all items.

Author:  davestewart [ Sat Oct 03, 2015 7:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Gaurav wrote:
We still need glyph icons for Music, Videos, Downloads, Apps, Games, Monitor off, Default Programs, Recycle Bin, Programs and Features, WiFi, Recent/Frequent folders


Edit: I've added these issues to the Github repo: https://github.com/davestewart/classic- ... n10/issues

Yeah. I've just completed:

  • Music
  • Videos
  • Downloads
  • Desktop

I will look to add:

  • Games
  • Recycle Bin
  • Default Programs
  • Programs and Features

I could possibly add:

  • Menu Settings
  • Taskbar Settings
  • Homegroup, Libraries, Administrative Tools (from Edit Menu Item > Link)

Not sure about:

  • Apps (I copied the "All apps" icon from Windows 10 for the "All Programs" icon, so it works for both in my view)
  • Monitor off (this doesn't have an icon at the moment)
  • WiFi (this doesn't have an icon)
  • Recent/Frequent folders (I don't have this)

Really behind on work at the moment anyway, so this will all probably be a couple of weeks away!

High res icons will be the same amount of work again, so certainly a task for the future! (The settings for these icons are 24px; what are the specs for high res? 48px?)

Author:  davestewart [ Sat Oct 03, 2015 2:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Weirdly, I've just tried to install the skin on a 2nd computer, and Classic Shell doesn't see it.

I've downloaded it from my Github repo, as well as copying the actual .skin file, and it's the same each time - no skin shows in the list.

The skin opens in Resource Hacker on that machine too.

Both machines are running Classic Shell 4.2.4.

Any ideas?

Author:  davestewart [ Sat Oct 03, 2015 2:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

OK, I figured it. The default setting were on "Windows 7 style" and I don't have a .skin7 file.

Author:  Jcee [ Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

after copying the skin to the skins folder in classic shells install directory, you might need to re-open the settings window for the change to take effect

Author:  Gaurav [ Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Thanks to davestewart's awesome work, my Start Menu looks very native on the crappy Windows 10. Not that I would leave Windows 7 for it or anything :D but still.

Attachments:
CS.png
CS.png [ 600.81 KiB | Viewed 13092 times ]

Author:  davestewart [ Thu Oct 08, 2015 3:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Fantastic :D

I've set up a bunch of different Start Menu configurations which I'll be uploading for the next release, hopefully with an expanded icon set, and even more hopefully 16px and 48px icons.

It's so much nicer having a Start Menu that behaves like Windows XP, but feels like Windows 10, I'm really glad you're enjoying it!

Author:  SuperGiulia [ Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

Gaurav wrote:
Thanks to davestewart's awesome work, my Start Menu looks very native on the crappy Windows 10. Not that I would leave Windows 7 for it or anything :D but still.

wow
i love it
where can i download it?
does it work with the last version of classic menu?
thanks

Author:  SuperGiulia [ Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Is it possible to set the icons in column 2?

davestewart wrote:
I did my own icons in the end, only took a couple of hours

I think these look much better.

hi
it'a amazing , but i can't find where download it
https://github.com/davestewart/classic-shell-win10 here there is not a file (skin) to download
thanks

Author:  Gaurav [ Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Skin with glyph icons in column 2 to match Win10 taskbar

Click the "Clone or download" button -> Download ZIP. It's inside the ZIP -> Dist folder.

Author:  SuperGiulia [ Sat Sep 24, 2016 7:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Skin with glyph icons in column 2 to match Win10 taskbar

Gaurav wrote:
Click the "Clone or download" button -> Download ZIP. It's inside the ZIP -> Dist folder.

thanks
about your skin where can i get it ?

about the zip files there are several files inside and Windows 10.skin 129kb


thanks

Author:  Gaurav [ Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Skin with glyph icons in column 2 to match Win10 taskbar

Well it's not the same exactly but instead of using icons, if you use Unicode text symbols, you can have some glyphs in Windows 7-style, 2nd column as well.

If in the future, Ivo can add support for color fonts which are supported using DirectWrite on Windows 8.1 and Windows 10, we can have full color emojis. Then fonts like Segoe UI Symbol or Segoe UI Emoji can be used.

Attachments:
Glyphs.png
Glyphs.png [ 180.05 KiB | Viewed 2995 times ]

Author:  Gaurav [ Sun Jul 30, 2017 9:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Skin with glyph icons in column 2 to match Win10 taskbar

Here are the glyphs for easy copy-pasting if anyone wants to use them in the Classic Start Menu:

Follow the instructions here: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=5091#p33545

Note: These glyphs will display properly on Windows 7 and up with the Segoe UI Symbol font present. You might want to change the font used in your skin(s) to Segoe UI Symbol. The rest of the non-glyph characters should display the same as regular Segoe UI.

Attachments:
Glyphs.txt [1.09 KiB]
Downloaded 60 times

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/