It is currently Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:30 pm
Posts: 32
I'm trying to customize a skin and i've extracted all the resources in the skins folder and named like this:

1.txt
1.bmp
2.bmp
...
...
...

When i select the custom skin in classic menu i can see al settings but the bmps are not loaded.

What is wrong ?

P.S. I'm using classic shell 4.20 beta


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1976
The proper skin editing procedure is to download http://www.angusj.com/resourcehacker/
then edit open with
from there you can edit the code, or export any .bmps contained within properly


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 9:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:30 pm
Posts: 32
Jcee wrote:
The proper skin editing procedure is to download http://www.angusj.com/resourcehacker/
then edit open with
from there you can edit the code, or export any .bmps contained within properly



so i've to recompile the script every time ? i just want to avoid that like explained in the tutorial.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:09 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Create a zip file with the exact files you have extracted and attach it here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:30 pm
Posts: 32
Ivo wrote:
Create a zip file with the exact files you have extracted and attach it here.



This is the content of my skins folder, all resources are from aero glass skin.


Attachments:
aero glass.zip [46.5 KiB]
Downloaded 317 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
For some reason the 3.bmp file fails to load. I don't know why. I will have to investigate over the weekend.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:30 pm
Posts: 32
Ivo wrote:
For some reason the 3.bmp file fails to load. I don't know why. I will have to investigate over the weekend.



ok, tnks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
BTW, resaving the bitmaps with Photoshop CS2 fixes the problem.
What program did you use to save the bitmaps?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:30 pm
Posts: 32
I'm using photoshop CS6.

The compiled skin works fine, the uncompressed one not, same resources.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:30 pm
Posts: 32
Ok, resaving all bitmaps with photoshop (CS6) solved the problem. Something is wrong in the bitmaps saved by resource hacker.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 11:56 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
I found the problem. The BMP file consists of 3 parts:
1 - the file header
2 - the image header
3 - the pixels

The image header contains the size of the pixels section (part #3). The files you have incorrectly use the sum of the sizes of parts #2 and #3. Some programs ignore the size and read the image anyway. The Windows API I use to load the image is more picky and fails.

BTW, I recommend you enable the "Report skin errors" setting at the bottom of the General Behavior tab. It will show you extra information to help you troubleshoot the problems.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Custom Skin  Topic is solved
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 12:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:30 pm
Posts: 32
Ivo wrote:
I found the problem. The BMP file consists of 3 parts:
1 - the file header
2 - the image header
3 - the pixels

The image header contains the size of the pixels section (part #3). The files you have incorrectly use the sum of the sizes of parts #2 and #3. Some programs ignore the size and read the image anyway. The Windows API I use to load the image is more picky and fails.

BTW, I recommend you enable the "Report skin errors" setting at the bottom of the General Behavior tab. It will show you extra information to help you troubleshoot the problems.



Tnks for your effort Ivo!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.