It is currently Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:26 am
Posts: 9
The jumplist entries for recent sites under Internet Explorer (IE) do not work in my Classic Shell.

All other jumplists (e.g. for Microsoft Excel) that point to local files work fine.


On hovering over an IE jumplist entry, the hover-box text indicates the correct web address, but clicking an entry starts IE as expected but opens a cached address (e.g. C:\Users\Al\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache\IE\25D9CXJI\PBERZGMU) that does not work.


How can I fix this?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:54 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5035
Does the jumplist work from the taskbar?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5035
Also, you can try deleting the jumplist files to reset them. For IE they are
%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\AutomaticDestinations\28c8b86deab549a1.automaticDestinations-ms
%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\CustomDestinations\28c8b86deab549a1.customDestinations-ms


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:26 am
Posts: 9
Ivo wrote:
Does the jumplist work from the taskbar?


I don't have any jumplists on the taskbar. Not really sure what you mean. However, the exact same jumplist works fine from the Windows 10 start menu.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:26 am
Posts: 9
Ivo wrote:
Also, you can try deleting the jumplist files to reset them. For IE they are
%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\AutomaticDestinations\28c8b86deab549a1.automaticDestinations-ms
%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\CustomDestinations\28c8b86deab549a1.customDestinations-ms


Tried that - with surprising results. The jumplist changed to one containing shortcuts to various local files. Also the "Tasks" part disappeared. So I restored the deleted file and got back to "normal".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5035
I meant - if you pin IE to the taskbar, do you get a different jumplist from the taskbar icon?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:26 am
Posts: 9
Ivo wrote:
I meant - if you pin IE to the taskbar, do you get a different jumplist from the taskbar icon?


Understood - just tried that and I get the exact same jumplist, but it works as one would expect.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:26 am
Posts: 9
Just to be clear - I'm attaching some screen-dumps.

ScrDump1.jpg is my Classic Shell jumplist. These links don't work, as indicated in the original post:

If I click the button at the top-left [Start Menu (Windows)] I get the original (awful) Windows 10 menu as per ScrDump2.jpg. These jumplist entries work OK:

If, as suggested, I pin IE to the taskbar I get the jumplist shown in ScrDump3.jpg, which works OK:

So I think there might be a bug somewhere in Classic Shell. Surely I'm not alone in experiencing this.


Attachments:
File comment: Taskbar pin jumplist
ScrDump3.jpg
ScrDump3.jpg [ 30.06 KiB | Viewed 1945 times ]
File comment: Windows 10 jumplist
ScrDump2.jpg
ScrDump2.jpg [ 42.09 KiB | Viewed 1945 times ]
File comment: Classic Shell jumplist
ScrDump1.jpg
ScrDump1.jpg [ 63.47 KiB | Viewed 1945 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5035
Got it. So the contents of the jumplist are correct, but the start menu does not launch them correctly.
Send me the contents of these two files:
%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\AutomaticDestinations\28c8b86deab549a1.automaticDestinations-ms
%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\CustomDestinations\28c8b86deab549a1.customDestinations-ms
Zip them together and attach them here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:26 am
Posts: 9
Ivo wrote:
Got it. So the contents of the jumplist are correct, but the start menu does not launch them correctly.
Send me the contents of these two files:
%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\AutomaticDestinations\28c8b86deab549a1.automaticDestinations-ms
%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\CustomDestinations\28c8b86deab549a1.customDestinations-ms
Zip them together and attach them here.


File attached.
My locations are a bit different to the ones you quoted. Mine are:
%APPDATA%\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\AutomaticDestinations\
%APPDATA%\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\CustomDestinations\


Attachments:
Al_42.zip [27.76 KiB]
Downloaded 15 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:26 am
Posts: 9
This thread seems to have gone very quiet. All I want to know is this: Does this phenomenon only apply to me? If that's the case then I'll go away and try to find what element of my setup is at fault.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 8:33 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5035
I will take a look when I have some free time, which probably won't be until Christmas.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:54 am
Posts: 1
Al-42 wrote:
This thread seems to have gone very quiet. All I want to know is this: Does this phenomenon only apply to me? If that's the case then I'll go away and try to find what element of my setup is at fault.


You're not the only one.
I have exactly the same problem.

The problem started for me when I upgraded from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10.
I have the latest version of Classic Shell installed and I have also tried if reinstalling Classic Shell would solve the problem. Well, it didn't.
The jumplist from the taskbar icon works fine, but when using the jumplist from Classic Shell, it tries to open a (cached?) file in the Internet Cache folder for Internet Explorer.

I must say that sometimes, after I go to a new site with IE (new in the sense that it's not in the jumplist yet), the jumplist entry for that site opens the corresponding URL correctly.
But this situation is shortlived.
Clicking the jumplist entry for a second or third time will try to open the file in the Internet Cache folder instead of the URL.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:26 am
Posts: 9
FriedChicken wrote:
Al-42 wrote:
This thread seems to have gone very quiet. All I want to know is this: Does this phenomenon only apply to me? If that's the case then I'll go away and try to find what element of my setup is at fault.


You're not the only one.
I have exactly the same problem.

The problem started for me when I upgraded from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10.
I have the latest version of Classic Shell installed and I have also tried if reinstalling Classic Shell would solve the problem. Well, it didn't.
The jumplist from the taskbar icon works fine, but when using the jumplist from Classic Shell, it tries to open a (cached?) file in the Internet Cache folder for Internet Explorer.

I must say that sometimes, after I go to a new site with IE (new in the sense that it's not in the jumplist yet), the jumplist entry for that site opens the corresponding URL correctly.
But this situation is shortlived.
Clicking the jumplist entry for a second or third time will try to open the file in the Internet Cache folder instead of the URL.


Thanks for that. Nice to know it's not just me!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE jumplist
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:26 am
Posts: 9
I thought this problem had gone away after the latest W10 update this week. I clicked on one of the shortcuts in the IE jumplist and it worked perfectly.
Unfortunately it only worked the one time. When I tried it again it was back to the cache as before.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.