It is currently Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:06 pm
Posts: 5
So I recorded this video so you can better see whats going on.

When moving my mouse over all programs and shutdown ">" logo the menus instantly appears.

Also it seems that you cannot remove the popups/hover/expand when moving mouse away from startmenu aiming at other programs or inside the startmenu random places will close them again.

I think they should follow the default windows hover delay or at least read it from the registry

which is.

Code:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Serialize" StartupDelayInMSec
HKCU\Control Panel\Desktop" MenuShowDelay
HKCU\Control Panel\Mouse"MouseHoverTime



Forum error?

The forum board does not regnoize youtu.be urls.

corrected to default youtube.com url.


Anyways the video.





Right now my task-bar and everything has disabled transparency but start menu is transparency as see on screenshot.

Code:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Themes\Personalize]
"EnableTransparency"=dword:00000000



I know you can find it under Skin > opaque (enable/disable)

But read registry and if trans enable make it fit?






Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The menu hover time is controlled by the "Menu delay" setting in the General Behavior tab, and by default is equal to the system setting.
The "sub-menu animation speed" is about how long the fade-in animation will take.

The transparency of the taskbar is controlled from the Taskbar tab. If "Customize taskbar" is unchecked, Classic Shell will not touch the taskbar look at all.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:06 pm
Posts: 5
Ivo wrote:
The menu hover time is controlled by the "Menu delay" setting in the General Behavior tab, and by default is equal to the system setting.
The "sub-menu animation speed" is about how long the fade-in animation will take.

The transparency of the taskbar is controlled from the Taskbar tab. If "Customize taskbar" is unchecked, Classic Shell will not touch the taskbar look at all.


Thanks for the info.

I corrected the default sub animation speed to 400 which is windows default, it was on 0.


However I have not customized task bar checked and it still gave me transparency even tho windows was set not to.


And to another point maybe its feature wize and maybe its already here?.

But would be cool if we could make silent installers with param to take settings from already backup xml file?

like

classic_shell_setup.exe /silent /import backup.xml

Obvious backup.xml would be in the same folder as classic shell installer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:06 pm
Posts: 5
I made this..

Can it be done better?

Code:
@echo off

:: BatchGotAdmin
:-------------------------------------
REM  --> Check for permissions
>nul 2>&1 "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\cacls.exe" "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\config\system"

REM --> If error flag set, we do not have admin.
if '%errorlevel%' NEQ '0' (
    echo Requesting administrative privileges...
    goto UACPrompt
) else ( goto gotAdmin )

:UACPrompt
    echo Set UAC = CreateObject^("Shell.Application"^) > "%temp%\getadmin.vbs"
    echo UAC.ShellExecute "%~s0", "", "", "runas", 1 >> "%temp%\getadmin.vbs"

    "%temp%\getadmin.vbs"
    exit /B

:gotAdmin
    if exist "%temp%\getadmin.vbs" ( del "%temp%\getadmin.vbs" )
    pushd "%CD%"
    CD /D "%~dp0"


:: script below here
:-------------------------------------


::MSIEXEC /i "ClassicShellSetup_4_3_0.exe" APPLICATIONFOLDER="%PROGRAMFILES%\Classic Shell" /qn /norestart
ClassicShellSetup_4_3_0.exe /qn
xcopy classicshell_menu_settings.xml /f /Y "%PROGRAMFILES%\Classic Shell"
pushd c:
timeout /T 1 /NOBREAK >NUL
CD "%PROGRAMFILES%\Classic Shell"
timeout /T 1 /NOBREAK >NUL
ClassicStartMenu.exe -xml "classicshell_menu_settings.xml"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
If you exit the start menu, does the taskbar change? If not, then the problem is not related to Classic Shell. Either way, you can use the Classic Shell settings to choose the color and transparency (even texture) for the taskbar.

As for the batch file, you don't have to copy the xml file to the folder. Just use it from its current location.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:06 pm
Posts: 5
Ivo wrote:
If you exit the start menu, does the taskbar change? If not, then the problem is not related to Classic Shell. Either way, you can use the Classic Shell settings to choose the color and transparency (even texture) for the taskbar.

As for the batch file, you don't have to copy the xml file to the folder. Just use it from its current location.



I thought it needed admin rights?

I just tested this


Code:
ClassicShellSetup_4_3_0.exe /qn
"%PROGRAMFILES%\Classic Shell\ClassicStartMenu.exe" -xml "%~dp0\classicshell_menu_settings.xml"



Seems to work ok?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Well, copying the batch file needs admin rights, as well as the installation of Classic Shell.
However importing the settings doesn't because it applies to the current user only.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.