It is currently Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:54 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:30 am
Posts: 2
Hello,

We have Classic Shell installed on a Server 2012 R2 terminal server for testing, and also connect via RemoteApp (A reduced connection without a traditional explorer shell).
We don't intend to use Classic Shell when in RemoteApp (since there is no shell!) but we have noticed that when it is installed for normal desktop sessions, any RemoteApp sessions that are opened crash out on the RemoteApp process (rdpinit.exe) with a Faulting Module as ClassicStartMenuDLL.dll

Quote:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: rdpinit.exe
Application Version: 6.3.9600.17415
Application Timestamp: 54504afb
Fault Module Name: ClassicStartMenuDLL.dll
Fault Module Version: 4.2.4.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 55c7808a
Exception Code: c000041d
Exception Offset: 00000000000ce6cc
OS Version: 6.3.9600.2.0.0.144.8
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 4330
Additional Information 2: 4330d2fef657c24dbbd687be2b1cf41d
Additional Information 3: 2c3c
Additional Information 4: 2c3cfea4c9d4c996ba42d1aa3c1707ef

I have attached two crash dumps captured from rdpinit.exe when the crash occurs.
The issue can be replicated in our environment just by connecting in via RemoteApp and waiting for a few minutes.
The crash does not occur when users connect to the same server in a full RDP shell.
The issue is resolved by removing Classic Shell. We only have the Start Menu component and updater components installed.

The version of Classic Shell is 4.2.5
Many Thanks,


Attachments:
rdpinit-crashdump.zip [212.75 KiB]
Downloaded 97 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:59 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5077
Looks like ClassicStartMenu.exe is trying to inject into the rdpinit.exe instead of explorer.exe. It is possible rdpinit is creating a window with the same class name "Shell_TrayWnd" as the taskbar. That's not a supported scenario.
I may add some extra safety checks in the future, but at the moment I don't know what they'll be.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:30 am
Posts: 2
That makes sense, my understanding is rdpinit is meant to be a lightweight shell based on explorer without most of the UX elements.
Is there any way to blacklist it from hooking into rdpinit? I don't mind helping test a solution, but we are going to have to push these servers into production at some point most likely without Classic Shell, which would suck because we all (and our users) love it!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 2:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 2:39 am
Posts: 2
We are having the same problem with Classic Startmenu and Windows 2012 R2 RDS. Is there already a workaround available? RemoteApp is now crashing after a few seconds. Thnx!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 10:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5077
Try the attached zip file. It replaces two of the files in the Program Files\Classic Shell directory.
You will have to exit the start menu when you do the swap. Right-click on the start button and select Exit.

Note that the attached file is only for Classic Shell 4.2.5. Replacing the files if you have a later version installed may not fix your issue and this fix below is most probably already included in versions of Classic Shell after 4.2.5.


Attachments:
ClassicStartMenu.zip [1.49 MiB]
Downloaded 169 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 2:39 am
Posts: 2
It works :D
Thnx for the quick response!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 4819
@bottswana, can you try the fix too and verify it works? I could only get Classic Start Menu to crash once in a RemoteApp session with Word running and never again after that.

_________________
Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.