It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:56 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: setup issue
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83

Beta version 4.2.0




that setup asks me where's the msi file, after having closed my previous version.
unale to install


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: setup issue
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Maybe this will help: http://www.classicshell.net/faq/#install_repair


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: setup issue
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
I have v4.1, & that doesn't make sense to me..
I tried the command you gave me using cmd, but it doesn't help either..
& i searched the file your setup needs "out of nowhere":



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: setup issue
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Looks like you currently have version 4.0.4. Before installing 4.2.0 you need to uninstall the previous version. The uninstaller needs a file that is no longer available on your machine. It is either deleted or corrupted.
You need to download the installer for 4.0.4, run it, and choose the Remove option. Only after 4.0.4 is gone from the system you can install 4.2.0


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: setup issue
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
like i told you, i have 4.1, files checked in program files.

i love uninstalling such programs before updating, i'm gonna have to play with exporting & removing folders where i tweaked skins configs,
what a mess


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: setup issue
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
ok, 4.2 is installed, i was too hasty to see a fix ive been awaiting which is still not there..

keeping startmenu open when i delete its shortcuts..

by the wayj, if u can add a fix to that because the author of downloadthemall hasn't updated his app since ages,
let me know ...

I have an issue with downloadthemall & the author stopped programming since a year. see if you know what i should change to prevent it..

pages i try to download from urls that contain hashtags (#) aren't downloaded because downloadthemall breaks the urls when it detects
a hashtag..

So if i try to download my filters from yandex email server:
https://mail.yandex.ru/neo2/?ncrnd=1008 ... 0000914265
downloadthemall will change that url to
https://mail.yandex.ru/neo2/?ncrnd=1008

i'm using downloadthemall 3.0b5


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: setup issue
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The reason the start menu closes (on Windows 8 and up) is because deleting a shortcut may pop up a confirmation dialog box. After Windows 7, there is no way to get the box to show up on top of the start menu. It is a problem that was introduced with Metro. The menu must close to give you access to any potential popup that may show up.

I have no idea what you mean about downloading. Nothing you say makes it sound like related to Classic Shell.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: setup issue
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:14 am
Posts: 83
"The menu must close to give you access to any potential popup"

Not true, you can force startmenu to stay on top (doesn't mean the deletion wizard will be behind startmenu, it means startmenu doesn't hide) once startmenu is open & detects the deletion wizard.


& downloadthemall is an extension, pretending you don't know it in 2015 & as a coder, is telling me you don't wanna help. ok.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: setup issue
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
I have not found a way to reliably detect the deletion dialog. It may even be hosted by another process than explorer.exe. It is following the new broker architecture that is needed for Metro apps as they don't have direct access to the file system and need an external process to do it for them. Trust me, I have tried. The alternative is to allow it to open behind the start menu and you have no way to access it, effectively locking the machine.
It is not just the deletion UI. Potentially any operation you do from the context menu can launch UI. In Windows 7 such UI can be positioned above the start menu but in newer OSes this is broken. The only safe thing to do is to hide the menu.

And really, I have no idea what "downloadthemall" is. Extension for what? Visual Studio? Why would I even want to download the mall?
And are you suggesting that I support some unknown software for you because the original developer quit? Software is not like a car that you can take from one mechanic to another to rotate the tires.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.