Classic Shell
http://www.classicshell.net/forum/

Incorrect network icons
http://www.classicshell.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=2563
Page 1 of 1

Author:  andy [ Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Incorrect network icons

The network icons are incorrect. This has been a problem for multiple revisions; I apologize for not having reported the issue as soon as it first occurred. All the icons are the same, though for some reason I got the impression that the last icon is correct but repeated for all the others. It's a little difficult for me to test.

Attachments:
File comment: screenshot of network icons in menu
network.png
network.png [ 39.76 KiB | Viewed 5638 times ]

Author:  Ivo [ Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Incorrect network icons

The start menu does not support dynamically-changing icons. The first time it encounters a menu item it saves its icon for later use. This is a compromise to get better performance at the expense of some accuracy.

Author:  andy [ Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Incorrect network icons

This did work in the past, though as you say, it could well have been an optimization you applied.

Perhaps replace the network icons with something more generic, rather than showing everything as a failed wireless network.

Author:  Gaurav [ Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Incorrect network icons

Can you tell please in which past version it worked? :)

Author:  andy [ Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Incorrect network icons

GauravK wrote:
Can you tell please in which past version it worked? :)
Yes, but it'll be a few days before I can devote the necessary time to cycling through old versions.

Author:  Gaurav [ Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Incorrect network icons

Okay I just tested this on Windows 7 with older releases, no need for you to test. You are right. Version 3.6.8 was the last version where it worked correctly. It is broken in the very first internal build of 3.9.0 that I tested. From version 0.9 through to 3.6.8, it always showed the correct icon of the adapter depending on its connected/disconnected state.

Author:  Ivo [ Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Incorrect network icons

Version 4.0 introduced a much more aggressive caching solution to significantly improve performance. It was needed to support the new features like search and program highlighting.

Author:  Gaurav [ Thu Apr 16, 2015 2:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Incorrect network icons

This is fixed for Windows 7 style in Classic Shell 4.2.0, and for the classic styles in Classic Shell 4.2.3 release candidate. Now the icons for the network connections are not cached so they can be updated if the network conditions change.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/