It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 12:53 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 8:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:13 pm
Posts: 9
Hello :shock:
I don't find the right place in the forum for this.
I have to develope an open source kiosk mode app for schools.
So I have to change the taskbar. I'm not yet sure how I wanna change the taskbar, but I also don't know yet how to do this.
I found out that TaskbarWinXP in the registry has to be changed. But that value is just binary:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Streams\Desktop]
"TaskbarWinXP"=hex:0c,00,00,00,08,00,00,00,01,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,aa,4f,28,68,\
48,6a,d0,11,8c,78,00,c0,4f,d9,18,b4,00,00,00,00,40,0d,00,00,00,00,00,00,28,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,28,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,01,00,00,00
"Upgrade"=dword:00000001

For me this is chinese backwards. Can u help me understanding how to edit the taskbar?
I guess it's only by editing the registry.
Is it neccessary to ask Microsoft itself for that?
Dr. google couldn't help me so far.

I also want that when right clicking on the taskbar, there is no context menu.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 10:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5374
Classic Shell does not include taskbar enhancements except a tweak to make it non-transparent. Also, the chances of a registry value from the XP days working on modern versions of Windows are slim.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 7:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:13 pm
Posts: 9
But that registry value from the XP days changes if something changes in the taskbar of win 8.1.
Classic Shell changes the taskbar!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:17 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
There are countless reasons for a registry value to change. Imagine if it contains the timestamp of the last time the taskbar was redrawn. Classic Shell redraws the taskbar and the value changes.
I would recommend against changing data in the registry that you do not fully understand.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:13 pm
Posts: 9
Thanks for replying

Ivo wrote:
There are countless reasons for a registry value to change. Imagine if it contains the timestamp of the last time the taskbar was redrawn.

I don't think its a timestamp. It only changes if I change something in the taskbar. U can also google about that registry value.


Ivo wrote:
Classic Shell redraws the taskbar and the value changes.

And I'd like to know how it does that.


Ivo wrote:
I would recommend against changing data in the registry that you do not fully understand.

And I write that topic to understand this.
Ahm, maybe I should do some reverse engineering.

I have to find a solution, because I write a master thesis.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:23 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Well, you haven't explained what you are trying to do. "I'm not yet sure how I wanna change the taskbar" is rather vague.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:13 pm
Posts: 9
I want to disable the abiliity to have a context menu when right clicking at the taskbar.
I maybe need to make the taskbar unusable.
But that depends if I can change the starmenu totally.
When I can change the start menu fully, then I don't need to make the taskbar unusable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Well, you can simply disable the window for the taskbar: EnableWindow(taskbar,FALSE);


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:13 pm
Posts: 9
is it that ?
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 85%29.aspx
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/5kbfsahf.aspx
http://www.pinvoke.net/default.aspx/user32.enablewindow

I guess u mean, that the taskbar is a window.

thx


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Yes, the taskbar is a window.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:13 pm
Posts: 9
Im a bit curious about classic shell.
Ahm ... is the start menu something existing hidden in windows 8(.1)
Or did u had to recreate and repaint the whole thing?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:37 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
It is entirely recreated from scratch.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:13 pm
Posts: 9
Great thing!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:13 pm
Posts: 9
How did u add the context menu to the taskbar near the start button?
I guess there is some Windows API programming with undocumented API funktions usage. Right?

EDIT:
As I see, there is an older version, that is open source, but the source code isn't downloadable any more. :(

EDIT:
Ah, I have found the code of the 1.0 here:
http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/45430/Classic-Shell


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
You can download the source from here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/classic ... elease%29/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:13 pm
Posts: 9
Ah thx.
Why was I to stupid to find it? Mhh....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 286 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.