It is currently Sun May 28, 2017 5:15 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 5:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 591
So yeah here's a thread for it. I'll be posting updates here over time. For now, here's some previews:



_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Last edited by Splitwirez on Fri May 05, 2017 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 6:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 805
That's interesting Splitwirez.
Can the blocks & icons on right be resized, or just screenshots?
My logic hasn't woken up yet. :)
Is this your start menu that you have talked about before that only works on Win8.1,
without CSM, because of ME?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 8:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 591
juniper7 wrote:
That's interesting Splitwirez.
Can the blocks & icons on right be resized, or just screenshots?

The tiles...oh man you haven't seen anything yet...forget resizing, they can do THIS:

(Though to answer your question, yes they're resizeable, just like on 8+)


juniper7 wrote:
My logic hasn't woken up yet. :)

Lel, rip



juniper7 wrote:
Is this your start menu that you have talked about before

Start9, Yes...



juniper7 wrote:
that only works on Win8.1

...wat no, that's not what I said at all - Start9 supports everything Vista and up ._.



juniper7 wrote:
without CSM, because of ME?

I apologize, but I don't quite understand this part of your post... D:

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 1:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 805
Cocka doodle doo
Something impressive going on there.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 5:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 591
juniper7 wrote:
Cocka doodle doo

...?

juniper7 wrote:
Something impressive going on there.

:333

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 8:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 805
Hi Splitwirez

Cockadoodle
Just a meaningless expression used at a time of being speechless, like a Tarzan yell. :)

The menu. It is starting to sink in.
This is not a start menu skin/theme you have been working on from the past, with a collaborator.
It is probably an old stand alone Pokki type flash based start menu?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 9:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 805
Hi Splitwirez
I looked around the net.
I thought menu was this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=txBaLPFWKzM

or this:

https://start-menu-10.softonic.com/

Then I found your pictures everywhere.
So now I think it is really this:

https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=36739


Shiney glass nice:

https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .36850.png


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 8:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 591
@Juniper7 You're correct - Start9 is a whole new menu, not just a skin or theme for something that already exists ^-^

(oh and it pretty much works alongside CSM :V )

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 8:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Italy
...where's the drool emoticon when you need it?

Impressive, Splitwirez. :o

Only one question (at least for now...:roll: :lol:) is it customizable as a standard ClassicShell menu?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 591
fonpaolo wrote:
...where's the drool emoticon when you need it?

Saliva and computers don't mix well.

fonpaolo wrote:
Impressive, Splitwirez. :o

Thanks :7

fonpaolo wrote:
Only one question (at least for now...:roll: :lol:) is it customizable as a standard ClassicShell menu?

Currently? Not quite...

...yet >:3

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Italy
Splitwirez wrote:
Saliva and computers don't mix well.

I know, but... it's inevitable. :lol:

Splitwirez wrote:
Currently? Not quite...

...yet >:3


Oh, don't worry Splitwirez, I can wait... ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 10:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 805
When can we try it out?
Want to see if it is more likable to use than original Win10 menu.




I'm sidetracking off topic here,
but isn't that other menu link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=txBaLPFWKzM

something right up fonpaolo's alley?
I read a little more into it, and it is based on Rainmeter!
Possibly two or more versions out there.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 11:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Italy
Yes juniper7, as it seems, it's based on Rainmeter, I have to investigate how it's made, since I know some (...ok. most) Classic Shell features are simply impossible or very complicated to simulate. (note I said simulate, not duplicate) :?

edit: ok, I watched the video and all the already known "problems" of this kind of "start menu" are there, you can only manually add the folders to browse, you can't add or modify anything in a dynamic way, maybe some drag and drop... but not really in the Windows way.
A lot of code for something only aesthetically pleasant, the main reason because I still, only, always use Classic Shell.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 11:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 805
fonpaolo
About the not Start9 menu.


I just tried the "release_update__flash_menu_by_chezburgur-d81jzyx"
with Rainmeter & got nowhere with it. Says something about .ini does not contain any meters?
I never used Rainmeter. The internal illustro samples work though.

Downloaded "fmv_3_by_chezburgur-d8w7j7h" & got same problem. I think I will give up on it,
and wait for Splitwirez.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 12:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Italy
juniper7, did you install it with double click on the .rmskin file?

Just tried it and for me works, but... argh!!! ...what a nightmare! :(

I can admire his hard work, but it's a sort of an hack, even if I know how to use Rainmeter, I had to spend quite some time to come back to my desktop. :shock:

edit: not to offend the creator in any way, but not the kind of Rainmeter skin I can suggest, it kills the taskbar, hides Rainmeter commands... ok I used it for a few minutes, but if I had problems to go back, I can imagine someone less experienced, because you have to manually go back, since there's no uninstall (it's not a program, it's a Rainmeter skin, well, more than one).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 1:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 805
I did something wrong. Didn't even see a .rmskin file,
so I made it into a .rmskin package, then installed it.
From what you have said, I don't even want go any further with it.

I still like Classic Shell Menu,. It's so fast and fluid, and 99.99% reliable.

I may want to read more into Rainmeter stuff.
Reason- For years, I had The Weather Channel desktop gadget installed on Win8/10.
Then something happened, the link broke or changed to a more secure link, and does not work anymore.
Using "Undisputed VS 2 Weather gadget now, but updates very slowly.
I see people have made weather Rainmeter skins. Will have to try some.:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 2:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:22 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Italy
I hate self promotions... :roll:
...however I also have one weather "gadget" in my suite (read as: it contains a lot of other things ;))
Probably you don't want anything more than that...
Probably it's not the design you're looking at...
...but I can help, if you need something.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 3:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 8:24 am
Posts: 76
Interesting.

_________________
When life gives you lemons, don't make lemonade, make lemon grenades! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 5:21 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5156
Impressive, most impressive.
Ping me if you need any code samples from Classic Shell. I wouldn't mind sharing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 5:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 591
fonpaolo wrote:
Splitwirez wrote:
Saliva and computers don't mix well.

I know, but... it's inevitable. :lol:






fonpaolo wrote:
Splitwirez wrote:
Currently? Not quite...

...yet >:3


Oh, don't worry Splitwirez, I can wait... ;)

*sigh of relief*


juniper7 wrote:
When can we try it out?

Soon™


juniper7 wrote:
Want to see if it is more likable to use than original Win10 menu.

I would hope so...my group of testers seem...optimistic, thus far.


juniper7 wrote:
I'm sidetracking off topic here,

Fine by me, I'd by a hypocrite to shoot you down .___.


juniper7 wrote:
but isn't that other menu link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=txBaLPFWKzM

something right up fonpaolo's alley?
I read a little more into it, and it is based on Rainmeter!

...you didn't already know tha-*remembers mention of Flash Menu being based on Flash*
Oh.


juniper7 wrote:
Possibly two or more versions out there.

Not possibly. Definitely.


fonpaolo wrote:
Yes juniper7, as it seems, it's based on Rainmeter, I have to investigate how it's made, since I know some (...ok. most) Classic Shell features are simply impossible or very complicated to simulate. (note I said simulate, not duplicate) :?

edit: ok, I watched the video and all the already known "problems" of this kind of "start menu" are there, you can only manually add the folders to browse, you can't add or modify anything in a dynamic way, maybe some drag and drop... but not really in the Windows way.
A lot of code for something only aesthetically pleasant, the main reason because I still, only, always use Classic Shell.






All of this:
juniper7 wrote:
fonpaolo
About the not Start9 menu.


I just tried the "release_update__flash_menu_by_chezburgur-d81jzyx"
with Rainmeter & got nowhere with it. Says something about .ini does not contain any meters?
I never used Rainmeter. The internal illustro samples work though.

Downloaded "fmv_3_by_chezburgur-d8w7j7h" & got same problem. I think I will give up on it,
and wait for Splitwirez.

fonpaolo wrote:
juniper7, did you install it with double click on the .rmskin file?

Just tried it and for me works, but... argh!!! ...what a nightmare! :(

I can admire his hard work, but it's a sort of an hack, even if I know how to use Rainmeter, I had to spend quite some time to come back to my desktop. :shock:

edit: not to offend the creator in any way, but not the kind of Rainmeter skin I can suggest, it kills the taskbar, hides Rainmeter commands... ok I used it for a few minutes, but if I had problems to go back, I can imagine someone less experienced, because you have to manually go back, since there's no uninstall (it's not a program, it's a Rainmeter skin, well, more than one).

is why I wasn't satisfied when I tried Flash Menu. (Fun fact: Start9 and Flash Menu share a common ancestor: the early Windows 10 Technical Preview builds :lol:

See?)



NoahNicholsFourm wrote:
Interesting.

:3





Also, I forgot to mention Start9's (currently somewhat performance-challenged) Task View reimplementation:

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 2:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:40 am
Posts: 4
It's been nearly 2 weeks since the last post. Any idea on when we can expect this other than "soon" :P ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 3:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 591
Deranox wrote:
It's been nearly 2 weeks since the last post. Any idea on when we can expect this other than "soon" :P ?


Well...no. Two weeks of mostly drowning in School and frantically working on a different project that urgently needs to get a hotfix release out the door isn't going to make Start9's release date any more predictable :/

I have fixed a few bugs since, though.

Also I should note that it isn't even feature-complete, and that mentioning it this much this early miiiiight have been a poor decision on my end... ._.


EDIT:
Ivo wrote:
Impressive, most impressive.
Ping me if you need any code samples from Classic Shell. I wouldn't mind sharing.

O:

HOLY SOMETHING THANK YOU HOW DID I MISS THIS POST EARLIER OOOOOOOOOOOO

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 12:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:03 pm
Posts: 85
I like the first gray one. Good work! This is awesome, hopefully we will see more of start 9.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.